FAQ's For Resident Producers

STATE OF WEST VIR GINIA

M Offices of the Insurance
Commissioner

Licensing & Education Division

What types of licenses areissued?

Producer Licensing issues resident and nonresident licenses for major and limited lines of
authority. Here are the licenses offered by the WV Insurance Commission.

Can | still get alicenseif | havea criminal conviction?
Y ou are not automatically disqualified from obtaining alicense if you have acrimina record.

On the application for alicense, there are specific instructions about the information to provide
about your criminal record on the conviction.

A signed statement describing the circumstances surrounding your arrest, the charges and
the conviction.

Provide a copy of the Indictment or Information and the Judgment and Sentencing
documents that show the disposition of each criminal charge.

Submit compl ete information with your application.

How do | apply to take an examination?

Y ou may schedule an examination online at PearsonV ue or contact them directly at 1-800-274-
2614.

It is suggested that you review the candidate handbook to know what to take to the testing center
aswell asthe content outlines as a study guide in addition to the prelicensing course.

Pearson VUE will notify the WV Insurance Commission of your exam results, but you must
apply for your license within one year of passing the exam. The exam scores are only valid for
oneyear.

| havealicensein another state. Do | still have to take an examination?

No. If you hold aresident producer license in another state, you are not required to take an
examination for those lines in which you are licensed. This exemption applies to residents of
those states that award licenses to West Virginia residents on the same basis.

If you have just moved to West Virginiayou will not have to take an examination if you have
provided a letter of clearance from that state (if that state issues letters of clearance). If aletter of
clearanceis provided or cancellation of the license is done within 90 days (only applicable if
letters of clearance are not issued) testing is not required.


http://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/webforms-licensing/WV License Types.pdf?ver=2017-08-18-111606-640
http://www.pearsonvue.com/wv/insurance/
https://home.pearsonvue.com/getattachment/f12f2b28-d842-45ab-bc92-d1650e9f9165/West Virginia Insurance Licensing Candidate Handbook.aspx
https://home.pearsonvue.com/getattachment/5bc380d9-56c3-40de-8a6f-89f8117cf4a0/West Virginia Insurance Supplement Examination Content Outlines.aspx
E027222
Typewritten text
FAQ's For Resident Producers


How do | apply for a producer/business entity producer license or add linesto my current
producer license?

Y ou may apply electronically for either license and may also apply electronically to add aline of
authority to your producer license by going to NIPR.

Select hereto view instructions for adding a new line of authority to your license.

Producer Business Entity Producer (Agency)
Form Uniform Application for Resident Individual |Uniform Application for Business Entity
Insurance Producer License License/Reqistration
Fee $50 $200

If applying by way of paper application, the fee may be paid by check or money order, made
payable to WVOIC.

How does an insurance company notify the department of my appointment or ter mination
asan agent?

West Virginia law requires notice of appointment within 15 days of either the signing of the
contract or the company receiving the first application from the producer (whichever islater). The
appointment should be submitted with a requested effective date that is not later than either of
these two occurrences AND it must be submitted so that it is received by the Department within
15 days of that date.

Notice of termination of appointments (without or for cause) must be filed with the Department
within 30 days following the effective date of the termination. Without cause terminations may
be processed through one of NIPR’s Authorized business partners. For cause Terminations must
be sent directly to the department.

Appointments and terminations are also accepted by the WV OIC form. Thereisa$25 fee per
producer appointment. Thereisno fee for producer terminations.

How do | renew my license?

WV OIC will send arenewal notice to the mailing address you provided on your application 90
days before your producer or business entity producer license expires. Y our renewal is due on or
before the expiration of your license. Licenses will expire if completed renewa documents are
not received by the expiration date. Company appointments are also terminated along with the
expiration of the license.

A late renewal period from date of license expiration has been established at twelve months. A
$50 penalty fee for producers and a $25 penalty fee for businesses entities will be assessed. After
twelve months, alicense may not be renewed and the previous licensee must apply for anew
license.

To renew your license electronically, click here.


http://www.nipr.com/index_authorized_business_partners.htm
http://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/agents/Resident Uniform Application Pro 12-15.pdf
http://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/agency/Resident Uniform Application BE 2-3-14 2.pdf
http://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/agents/Resident Uniform Application Pro 12-15.pdf
http://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/agency/Resident Uniform Application BE 2-3-14 2.pdf
http://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/webforms-licensing/WV License Fees.pdf?ver=2017-08-18-142353-953
http://www.nipr.com/index_authorized_business_partners.htm
https://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/agents/WV%20APPOINTMENT-TERMINATION%20FORM.pdf?ver=2019-08-27-141348-617
https://www.nipr.com/license_form.htm
https://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/webforms-licensing/apply_for_new_line_of_authority.pdf?ver=2019-03-21-113246-697

License fees

When will the department ter minate my license?

Your license will be terminated if your license is not renewed on or before your expiration date.
How can | get my licensereinstated after | am expired/inactive?

If your license has terminated due to nonrenewal and is expired (within the past 12 months), you
may late renew your license.

If your license isin an inactive status, you must apply for anew license. If a resident of WV,
you are required to complete anew producer license application and fulfill al the requirements.

If your business entity producer license is expired, you must late renew the license.

If your business entity producer licenseis inactive, you must apply for a new license.

My license got destroyed or lost. How do | print a new one?
Y ou may print your license here.

When do | need to get a certification or clearance letter? How do | get one?

Clearance letters may be required if you are moving to another state and wish to be licensed in
that state. Certification letters may aso be required by another state if you apply for anon-
resident license in that state. Before requesting a certification or clearance letter from our
insurance department, please check with the requesting state insurance department to verify if a
letter of certification or clearanceisrequired or if they will verify your licensure in West
Virginia through the Producer Data Base.

How do | surrender my license?

Y ou may surrender your license by completing the surrender form and emailing or faxing to 304-
558-4966.

My name or address changed. What do | need to do?

All changes or corrections to your name, address or SSN must be submitted by the producer.
Address changes for producers must be made within 30 days through NIPR’s electronic address
change or the WV OIC Address change form.

If failure to notify the WV OIC of your producer address change prevents this office from
contacting you regarding your producer license or an insurance complaint administrative action
or revocation of the license may occur.

There are no fees associated with changing a name or updating an address.


http://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/webforms-licensing/WV License Fees.pdf?ver=2017-08-18-142353-953
http://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/webforms-licensing/How to Verify and Print My License.pdf?ver=2017-08-18-140932-600
https://www.wvinsurance.gov/Portals/0/pdf/webforms-licensing/Producer_CE.pdf

How do | meet my continuing education requirements?

All resident producers holding amajor line of authority are required to meet the continuing
education requirements for West Virginia. Non-residents are exempt if their state has a
mandatory continuing education law.

How do | pay my fees?

Y ou may pay your fees with either:

Company check.

Business entity producer check.
Money order.

Cashier's check.

Fee may be paid by check or money order, made payable to WVOIC.
How do | contact the Licensing Section?
We can be reached at:

West Virginia Insurance Commission
Licensing & Education Division

900 Pennsylvania Avenue
Charleston, WV 25302

PO Box 50541

Charleston, WV 25305-0541
304-558-0610

304-558-4966 (fax)
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