Licensing and Education Division

Licensing and Education Division

Licensing and Education is responsible for processing and maintaining records on insurance licensees licensed to transact business in West Virginia. Licensees include 8,700 resident agents and 86,000 non-resident insurance agents, 800 resident adjusters and 27,000 non-resident adjusters in West Virginia. These licensees include residents who must complete educational and testing requirements to obtain a license. Residents of other states who have completed similar requirements in their states of domicile may apply for a West Virginia non-resident license by submitting the appropriate application and documentation for review. In addition to licensing of individual producers and adjusters, the division oversees the licensing of Adjusters, Surplus Lines Licensees, Business Entities (Agencies), Viatical Settlement Brokers and Viatical Settlement Business Entities.


Health Insurance Meeting with Continuing Education Credit

Agent Health Insurance Meeting

October 3, 2019 - WV Lottery Building, 900 Pennsylvania Ave., Charleston, WV 25302. The meeting will be from 1:00 - 4:00. 

Registration Link

New Resident Applicants Only Notice

Applicant Notification and Record Challenge:  Your fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI.  You have the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy of the information contained in the FBI identification record.  The procedure for obtaining a change, correction, or updating an FBI identification record are set forth in Title 28. CFR. 16.34.

FBI Privacy Act Statement

Fingerprinting Annoucement by IdentoGo

• To complete the registration for fingerprints applicants will need the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner service code which can be found here. To register please use

• As of Sept 28, 2018, IdentoGo will no longer accept credit card payments online when scheduling appointments. All credit card payments must be made onsite at the time of the fingerprinting session. Applicants, employers, or facilities wishing to provide a credit card in advance and not onsite should contact the IdentoGo billing department and complete paperwork to establish a NCAC account.

State Announcements

Fingerprint fees increasing from $44.50 to $45.75

Applicants must now submit a $45.75 payment as fees for fingerprinting when they schedule through IdentoGo.

Fingerprint fee: $12.50

WVSP fee: $20.00

FBI Fee: $13.25 (previously was $12.00)

                Total $45.75


2019 Company Appointment Renewal Notice


Applicants applying for an adjuster or surplus lines license before March 1, will be requried to renew the license at the upcoming license renewal (May 31).  Applicants applying for a Business Entity license before March 1, will also be requried to renew the license at the upcoming license renewal (June 30).  If you plan to do business in West Virginia before March 1, you must be licensed.

The license expiration date is as follows:

  • Insurance producer - Last Day of Birth Month Biennially
  • Adjuster & Surplus Lines - Renew 5/31 Annually