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Workers’ Compensation 
FORMS REVIEW REQUIREMENTS 

Applications REFERENCE   COMMENTS 
Fee, filing §33-6-34 The Filing Fee is $50.00 per Form filing and applies on a per company basis. 

Submission, filing 
WVIL 

(Informational 
Letter) 163 

All filings must be submitted through SERFF (System for Electronic Rate and Form Filing).  
Filing fees must be remitted via EFT (Electronic Funds Transfer) through SERFF. 

Filing Standards REFERENCE COMMENTS 
Filing Requirements §33-6-8(a) Must be filed with, and if necessary, approved by the commissioner, or conform to 

applicable rules approved by the commissioner. 
Time §33-6-8-(b)(2) Commercial Lines filings must be made prior to use. 
Suggested Lead Time for 
filings 

§33-6-8(b)(2) Commercial insurance should be filed at least thirty days prior to either the effective date 
requested or to the date that our final disposition needs to be known. 

Approval §33-6-8(b)(2) A Commercial Lines form filing becomes effective upon first use after filing if not 
disapproved by the Commissioner within 30 days of receipt. 

Disapproval 
  §33-6-8(c) The commissioner may, at any time, disapprove or withdraw an approval for a form.  The 

commissioner shall state the grounds for withdrawal or disapproval. 
§33-6-9 A form shall be disapproved under any of the following conditions: 

1. The form is in violation of or does not comply with Chapter 23 or Chapter 33 of the 
     West Virginia Code. 
2.  The form contains or references any inconsistent, ambiguous, or misleading clauses 
     or exceptions and conditions which deceptively affect the risk purported to be assumed 

in the general coverage of the contract. 
3. The form has any title, heading, or other indication of its provisions which is  
     misleading. 
4. The purchase of such policy is being solicited by deceptive advertising. 
5. The benefits provided therein are unreasonable in relation to the premium charged. 
6. The coverages provided therein are not sufficiently broad to be in the public interest. 



WEST VIRGINIA OFFICES OF THE INSURANCE COMMISSIONER 
Workers’ Compensation Insurance Review Standards Checklist 

 

Revised:  10/18/2016 

Contents  REFERENCE   COMMENTS 
Basic Contents §33-6-11 

 
 
 
 

§85CSR-8 

Must specify the names of the parties to the contract, the insurer’s name, the subject of 
the insurance, the risks insured against, the time the insurance coverage becomes 
effective and the term during which such coverage continues, the premium, and the 
conditions pertaining to the insurance. 
 
Workers’ compensation policies shall provide coverage for any bodily injury with a date of 
injury within the policy period and for all benefit types and related death benefits as set 
forth by Chapter 23.  

Additional Contents §33-6-12 A policy may contain additional provisions if they are: 
1. Consistent with Chapters 23 & 33. 
2. Required to be inserted by the laws of the insurer’s domicile. 
3. Necessary, because of the manner in which the insurer is constituted or operated, in 

order to state the rights and obligations of the parties. 
4. Desired by the insurer and not prohibited by law nor in conflict with any provisions 

required to be included therein. 
Non-WV Laws  §33-6-14 No policy delivered or issued for delivery in West Virginia and covering subject of 

insurance resident, located, or to be performed in West Virginia, shall contain any 
condition, stipulation or agreement requiring such policy to be construed according to the 
laws of any other state. 

Rating Organization Deviation §33-20-7 
§33-6-8 

Every member of or a subscriber to a rating organization shall adhere to the filing made 
on its behalf by such organization.  Any deviation from materials filed on behalf of an 
insurer by a rating organization must be filed by such insurer.  (Refer to RATES section.) 

Charter, Bylaws, Other 
Documents 

§33-6-13 No policy shall contain any provision purporting to make any portion of the charter, 
bylaws, or other constituent document of the insurer a part of the contract unless such 
portion is set forth in the full policy. 

Signature §33-6-15 Every insurance policy shall be executed in the name of and on behalf of the insurer by its 
officer, attorney-in-fact, employee, or representative duly authorized by the insurer.  

Legal Action Against Insurer §33-6-14 No policy may contain any condition, stipulation or agreement preventing the bringing of 
an action against the insurer for more than six months after the cause of action accrues or 
limiting the time within which an action may be brought to a period of less than two years 
from the time the cause of action accrues in connection with all insurances.  Any such 
condition, stipulation or agreement shall be void, but this shall not affect the validity of the 
other provisions of the policy. 

Arbitration and Appraisal 
Provisions 

WVIL 119-B Arbitration and appraisal provisions are not required but if they are included the language 
must be at least as favorable to the insured as to that set forth in WVIL 119-B 
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Cancellation & Nonrenewal  REFERENCE  COMMENTS 
Notification §23-2C-15 

§85CSR8 
Private carriers may cancel or decline to renew a policy upon the issuance of sixty (60) 
days written advance notice to the policyholder: Provided, that cancellation of the policy by 
the carrier for failure of consideration to be paid by the policyholder is effective after ten 
(10) days written advance notice of cancellation to the policyholder. 

Unfair Trade Practices REFERENCE COMMENTS 
Unfair or Deceptive Practices §33-11-4 The following are defined as unfair methods of competition and unfair or deceptive acts or 

practices in the business of insurance (full definitions and explanations are available in the 
referenced sections): 

1.        Misrepresentation and false advertising of insurance policies 
2.        False information and advertising generally 
3.        Defamation 
4.        Boycott, coercion and intimidation 
5.        False statements and entries 
6.        Stock operations and advisory board contracts as an inducement to insurance 
7.        Unfair discrimination 
8.        Rebates 
9.        Unfair claim settlement practices 

     10.        Failure to maintain complaint handling procedures 
     11.        Misrepresentation in insurance applications 
     12.        Failure to maintain privacy of consumer financial and health information 
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Workers’ Compensation 

RATES REVIEW REQUIREMENTS 
Rate Filing REFERENCE   COMMENTS 
Fee, filing §33-6-34 The Filing Fee is $75.00 per Rate filing and $75.00 per Rule filing and applies on a per 

company basis. 

Submission, filing 
WVIL 

(Informational 
Letter) 163 

All filings must be submitted through SERFF (System for Electronic Rate and Form Filing).   
Filing fees must be remitted via EFT (Electronic Funds Transfer) through SERFF. 

Basic Requirements §33-20-4 Must file every manual, minimum, class rate, rating schedule or rating plan and every other 
rating rule and every modification of any of the foregoing which the insurer proposes to use.  
 
Filing should state proposed effective date and indication of the character and extent of the 
coverage contemplated. 

Filing Requirement §33-20-4(h) Must be filed with the commissioner prior to use. 
Suggested Lead Time for 
filings 

§33-20-4(h) Commercial insurance should be filed at least thirty days prior to either the effective date 
requested or to the date that our final disposition needs to be known. 

Waiting Period §33-20-4(h) Commercial Lines rate filings become effective upon first use after filing if not disapproved 
by the Commissioner within 30 days of receipt. 

Abstract §114-67 File Appropriate Abstract.  Available in Regulations-Series 67. 
Appendix E (Loss Cost)- PCA-LCR-2009 and/or Appendix F (Rate/Rule)- PCA-R-2009     

Information for Support §33-20-4(b) Information furnished in support of a filing may include: 
1. Experience or judgment of the insurer or rating organization making the filing 
2. Experience or judgment of the insurer or rating organization in the territorial rate areas 

established by §33-20-3(c)(2) 
3. Interpretation of any statistical data relied upon 
4. Experience of other insurers or rating organizations 
5.   any other relevant factors 

Surcharges §23-2C-3(f) Filing should contemplate provisions for applications of appropriate required surcharges. 
Multipliers §23-2C-18-

(b) 
§33-20-7 

Must file multiplier(s) to be applied to prospective loss costs that have been filed by the 
designated rating organization on behalf of the insurer. 
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Rate Filing REFERENCE COMMENTS 

Rating Organization §23-2C-18a Each insurer shall: 
1. Record and report its experience to the designated rating organization as set forth in 

the uniform statistical plan approved by the commissioner. 
2. Adhere to the uniform classification plan and uniform experience rating plan 

developed by the rating organization and approved by the commissioner. 
Filing Requirements for 
Members of Rating 
Organizations 

§33-20-7(b), 
WVIL 54 

If a member or subscriber deviates in any way from the approved rating organization filing, 
the insurer must make written application to the commissioner for permission to file a 
deviation from the class rates, schedules, rating plans or rules respecting any kind of 
insurance, or class of risk within a kind of insurance or a combination thereof.  This 
application must specify the basis for modification.  The commissioner will give 
consideration to the available statistics and the applicable principles for rate making as 
provided in §33-20-3.  Initial or amended loss cost multipliers or modifiers must be filed 
independently.   
The following will be considered deviations: 
1. Use of rates higher or lower than those approved for the rating organization. 
2. Non-adoption of an approved rating organization filing. 
3. Delay in the implementation of an approved rating organization filing. 
4. Modification of a deviation currently in use. 

Requirements REFERENCE COMMENTS 
Consent-to-Rate Approval WVIL 40 Any rate in excess of an approved rate filing must be filed with and approved by the 

Insurance Commission.  Consent-to-Rate filings must comply with the following: 
1. All applications must be on an exact copy of the form provided in WVIL 40. 
2. The original application form must be signed in ink by both the producing agent and the 

insured. 
3. The insured’s complete address, telephone number and the exact property location 

must be indicated. 
4. Both the existing approved and the requested rates must be indicated.  If Consent-to-

Rate is disapproved, the approved rate becomes applicable. 
5. The specific reason(s) for Consent-to-Rate must be given in detail. 
 
The form should be filed via SERFF and must include a copy of the original application  
10 days prior to the effective date of the coverage. 
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Requirements REFERENCE    COMMENTS 
Disapproval §33-20-5 If a filing is not found to meet all requirements within the waiting period, the commissioner 

will provide notice of disapproval with a reason for disapproval. 
 
If at any time after the review period a filing is found not to meet all requirements, an order 
specifying a reason and a date when the filing is no longer effective. 
 
Any person, insurer, or rating organization may demand a hearing in response to a 
disapproval decision. 
 
All rate filings must meet all requirements set forth in Article 20, Chapter 33 of the West 
Virginia Code (§33-20). 

Rate Making REFERENCE COMMENTS 
Provisions for Rate Making §33-20-3 

§85CSR8 
 

All rates shall be made in accordance with the following provisions: 
 
1. Due consideration must be given to past and prospective loss experience, to 

catastrophe hazards, to dividends, to past and prospective expenses, and to all other 
relevant factors within and outside West Virginia. 

2. Rates must not be excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory. 
3. Manual, minimum, class rates, rating schedules or rating plans shall be filed and/or  
      adopted. 

 


