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WEST VIRGINIA OFFICES OF THE 
INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

WELCOME!

WORKERS’ COMPENSATION FORUM
APRIL 8, 2008

West Virginia
Offices of the Insurance 

Commissioner

Workers’ Compensation Transition 
Update

Deputy Commissioner Bill Kenny

Transition Overview

SB1004 passed by the Legislature – January 2005

NCCI designated as rating organization – October 2005 

— NCCI classification system adopted – July 1, 2006
— Approved NCCI loss costs – July 1, 2006
— NCCI Dispute Resolution process implemented – July 1, 2006
— Proof of Coverage implemented – September 2006
— Approved NCCI loss costs – July 1, 2007
— Implemented NCCI Experience Rating plan – July 1, 2007
— Approved NCCI loss costs – July 1, 2008
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Old Fund Deficit Reduction Plan

Legacy liabilities of the Old Fund have been 
addressed by the Administration and the 
Legislature.
Deficit as of Dec. 31, 2005 was $3.4 billion and 
has been reduced to $2.8 billion as of June 30, 
2007.
Legacy funding allows for the debt to be fully 
funded by 2016.
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Legacy Liability

Annual Dedicated Funding Sources

• Severance Tax $90,200,000
• Personal Income Tax $95,400,000
• Video Lottery $11,000,000
• Self Insured $  9,000,000
• WC Policyholders $45,000,000

Total Annual Revenue      $250,600,000
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Third Party Administrators for Old Fund

Three Third Party Administrators were selected to 
administer the Old Fund claims.  

Sedgwick CMS
Wells Fargo Disability Management
American Mining Claims Services
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Residual Market Update

NCCI Holdings, Inc. 
has been named the plan administrator for the 

West Virginia residual market 
and West Virginia will join the 

National Workers’ Compensation Reinsurance Pool.  
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State of the Market
21 new companies have been licensed to write workers’
compensation coverage

85 Rates & Forms filings have been received

Surcharges adjusted to a fixed percentage of regulatory = 5.5% and 
deficit = 9%

NCCI named Residual Market Plan Administrator and West Virginia 
will join the National Workers’ Compensation Reinsurance Pool

Old Fund deficit debt addressed

Successful 2008 legislative session- addressed code language that 
was no longer applicable with new private market

Ready to open a competitive market on July 1, 2008
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Stephen J. Klingel
President and Chief Executive Officer

NCCI Holdings, Inc.
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West Virginia
Offices of the Insurance 

Commissioner

Legislative Update

General Counsel Mary Jane Pickens

Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

HB 4636 – Effective From Passage.
W. Va. Code § 23-2C-3 – Regulatory Surcharge. 
For FY’s beginning on July 1, 2008 the regulatory surcharge calculation
will change. 

Private carriers will collect surcharge in the amount of 5.5 percent of 
premium collected, plus total of all premium discounts based on 
deductible provisions.

Before June 1, 2013 and every 5 years thereafter the Commissioner 
will review the regulatory surcharge and determine a new percentage 
as necessary.

Amounts collected must be remitted on or before the 25th day of the 
month after the end of the quarter in which they are collected. 
Regulatory surcharge for the fourth quarter will be remitted on or before 
the 1st day of March the following year.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

W. Va. Code § 23-2C-3 – Debt Reduction Surcharge. 

For policies issued or renewed on or after July 1, 2008, the 
calculation for the debt reduction surcharge that each 
private carrier must collect from its policyholders will 
change.

The amount is amended from an annually determined 
amount required to produce 45 million dollars to a 
surcharge rate of 9% of premium collected plus the total of 
all premium discounts based on deductible provisions that 
were applied.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

W. Va. Code § 23-2C-15.
The employer must post a notice on its business premises 
which includes the name, business address and telephone 
number of its insurer and of a person to contact with 
questions about a claim. 

Deletes requirement of having contact information for a WV 
resident adjuster in the employer’s notice.

OIC interpretation of a “person to contact with questions”
should be an employer representative that deals with HR 
matters.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

W. Va. Code § 23-2C-15 is also amended to 
delete the provision that insurance carriers must 
provide information to the OIC related to officers, 
directors and ten percent or more owners of each 
carrier’s policyholders within 60 days of the 
issuance of a policy or within 60 days of the date 
of any changes to the information. 
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

W. Va. Code § 23-2C-15 is also amended regarding cancellation and 
nonrenewal notice requirements.  

On July 1, 2008, new carriers doing business in WV may cancel a 
policy upon 30 days advance written notice and may non-renew a 
policy upon 60 days advance written notice.  

“Refusal to comply with a premium audit” is added as a basis for carrier 
cancellation on 10 days notice, which is also the applicable notice for 
cancellation due to nonpayment of premium.  

BrickStreet may cancel or non-renew as set forth for other carriers, but 
only after January 1, 2009, except for reasons other than nonpayment 
or refusal to comply with audit.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

“Proof of Coverage” notification requirements to the OIC have been 
amended in W. Va. Code § 23-2C-15.

Notice of new coverage has changed from 10 to 30 days of the 
effective date of coverage, or the private carrier’s receipt of notice of 
the employer’s operations in this state, whichever is later.

Notice of termination of coverage due to nonrenewal or cancellation 
has changed from 3 days after to at least 10 days prior to effective date 
of termination of coverage. 

Termination of coverage at the request of the employer must be given 
within 10 days of the carrier’s receipt of the employer’s request. 

Transfer of a policyholder between insurance companies within the 
same group is not considered a cancellation or refusal to renew a 
workers’ compensation insurance policy 
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

W. Va. Code § 23-4-7b. Return to Work.
Amendments strike former provisions relating to 
RTW and replace with rule making authority of 
OIC.  
Rules will be exempt legislative rules for 
consideration by the Industrial Council.
Rules will establish criteria for allowing a worker to 
return to work on a trial basis following an injury 
and for the suspension of TTD during the trial 
RTW period.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

W. Va. Code § 23-2C-17
Is amended to clarify that a self-insured employer and private carriers 
may enter into a contract to have their plans administered by a TPA.

The requirement that the TPA must maintain an office in WV is deleted 
but amendments add that the TPA must be licensed or registered with 
the Insurance Commissioner. 

Any TPA that directly or indirectly underwrites or collects charges or 
premiums or adjusts or settles WC claims on residents of WV on behalf 
of an insurer is subject to the provisions of W. Va. Code § 33-46-1, et 
seq.

Insurance Commissioner shall purpose rules to regulate the use of 
TPAs by private carriers and self-insured employers, including rules 
setting forth mandatory provisions for agreements between TPA’s and 
self-insured employers or private carriers. 
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

W. Va. Code § 23-5-1 
Amendments clarify that parties to a claim are the claimant 
and, if applicable, the claimant’s dependents, and the 
employer. With respect to claims involving funds created in 
article two-c of chapter 23, the Insurance Commissioner is 
a party.
Insurer has sole authority to act on employer’s behalf in 
litigation of the claim.
Soon after receipt of the claim, but no later than the date of 
the initial decision the OIC, carrier or self-insured employer 
must send the claimant a brochure approved by the OIC 
setting forth the claims process.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

The time for protesting carrier or self-insured employer 
decisions to the OOJ has been extended from 30 days to 
60 days.

The 60 day protest period is still jurisdictional and a 
condition of the right to litigate the finding or action.

“Employer protest” is retained in connection with decisions 
based on OP Board findings, state fund claims, and 
decisions based on PPD recommendations of treating 
physician under 15% [W. Va. Code § 23-4-7a(c)(1)].
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

W. Va. Code § 23-5-1 is also amended to add a new 
process to ensure that claimants receive prompt treatment 
and benefits when a decision to deny benefits is protested 
and the only controversy relating to compensability is 
whether the application was filed properly as a new claim 
or a reopening of a prior claim (aggravation/progression of 
earlier injury).

This new process applies only to claims with applications 
filed on or after July 1, 2008.

The party that denies the application must begin conditional 
payment of benefits and must promptly give notice to the 
OOJ that another identifiable person may be liable.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

The OOJ must promptly order the appropriate persons to be joined as 
parties to the proceeding.

At any time during a proceeding in which conditional payments are 
being made the OOJ may, pending final determination of the person 
properly liable for payment of the claim, order that such conditional 
payments of benefits be paid by another party. 

Conditional payments will not be an admission or conclusive finding of 
liability.

OOJ shall direct reimbursement between/among carriers, OIC or self 
insured employers as necessary after determination is made as to
properly liable party.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

This process will toll the statute of limitations.  

OOJ may designate new claim as reopening, effective as of 
date of filing.

OOJ may designate reopening as new claim, effective as of 
date of filing.

OOJ may designate applications and reopening petitions 
filed against one carrier, self-insured employer or OIC as a 
filing made against another carrier, self-insured employer 
or OIC.  
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4636

W. Va. Code § 23-5-1 is further amended relating to 
corrected orders.  If an order initially denies benefits but is 
later determined to be not supported by the evidence, the 
order may still be corrected within the current two year 
jurisdictional time limit for correcting orders. 

Any protest filed prior to entry of the amended decision is a 
protest from the corrected decision unless the ALJ enters 
an order dismissing the protest as moot in light of the 
correction.  

Corrected orders in the case of fraud may be made at any 
time (no change from current law).
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4381

Effective from passage.
Amendments delete references in code to “state 
funds” for the assigned risk plan and guaranty 
fund.  
Assigned risk plan – needs to be in place in time 
for BrickStreet to begin non-renewals of existing 
policies in November 2008.  If employer is unable 
to find coverage in the voluntary market for WC 
coverage, it will need to go to the residual market 
for this coverage.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4381

Amendments require the OIC to provide for the 
development and administration of an assigned 
risk plan to provide WC coverage in our state to 
employers who are unable to find the coverage in 
voluntary market.  

To qualify for coverage, employer must have been 
declined by at least 2 insurers who are not 
affiliated with one another.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4381

Rates must be approved by the OIC and must be 
consistent with classification and rate making 
methodologies found in the insurance industry and 
calculated to enable the plan to be self sustaining.  Also, 
rates must be calculated to the greatest extent possible to 
support coverage without subsidies from employers and 
insurers in the voluntary market.  

The OIC may designate an entity with experience in 
developing and administering similar programs in other 
states to develop and administer WV’s assigned risk plan 
for 3 years.   Thereafter, the OIC shall contract with any 
qualified party to administer the plan. 
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4381

Guaranty Fund – Amendments add workers’ compensation 
insurance to the scope of W. Va. Code § 33-26-1, et seq. 
[W.Va. Insurance Guaranty Association Act].

Guaranty Association will now administer 3 accounts: Auto, 
Workers’ Compensation, and all other P&C.

Amendments clarify that limits on covered claims do not 
apply to obligations of the Association relating to workers’
compensation claims.

If more than one Guaranty Association might afford 
recovery, amendments state that workers’ compensation 
claims must be sought first from association of claimant’s 
residence.
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4079

Creates new article in chapter 33 relating to Professional 
Employer Organizations (“PEO’s”).

OIC is charged with licensing and regulation of PEO’s. 

PEO’s operating in WV on effective date of bill must obtain 
license from OIC by July 30, 2009.

OIC may examine or investigate the business and affairs of 
any PEO under market conduct examination provisions of 
chapter 33 [W. Va. Code § 33-2-9].
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4079

Responsibility to obtain workers’ compensation coverage 
must be specifically allocated in the professional employer 
agreement.

Insurer must report payroll and claims data for each client-
employer to the OIC or statistical agent in a manner that 
identifies both the client-employer and PEO. 

Insurer must also accurately report coverage status on 
each client-employer under applicable POC statutes and 
rules.

20
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Summary of 2008 Legislative Changes
H.B. 4079

Workers’ compensation coverage may be provided on a 
master policy basis, but insurer must be able to report 
experience accurately for each client-employer.

No workers’ compensation coverage may be provided 
through a PEO on a master policy basis in the residual 
market.  

Workers’ compensation coverage may also be provided on 
a multiple coordinated policy basis;

Protection of the exclusive workers’ compensation remedy 
applies to the PEO, the client-employer, and all covered 
employees irrespective of who obtains the coverage.  

21

West Virginia
Offices of the Insurance 

Commissioner

Rules Required by 2008 Legislation

General Counsel Mary Jane Pickens

Rules Projects

H.B. 4636 [§ 23-2C-17(c)] – TPA’s

The OIC shall propose exempt Legislative rules for 
consideration by Industrial Council to regulate the 
use of TPA’s by private carriers and self-insured 
employers, including rules setting forth mandatory 
provisions for agreements between TPA’s and 
self-insured employers or private carriers.

1
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Rules Projects

H.B. 4636 [§ 23-4-7b(b)] – Return to Work.

The OIC shall propose exempt Legislative rules for 
consideration by Industrial Council establishing 
criteria for providing employers the option of 
allowing employees, following an injury, to return 
to work on a trial basis and for the suspension of 
temporary total benefits during a period of trial 
return to work.
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Rules Projects

HB4079 - Professional Employer Organizations

By July 1, 2008, the OIC must promulgate an emergency 
Legislative rule and shall also propose an exempt 
Legislative rule for consideration by the Industrial Council 
establishing standards for the reporting of client-employer 
experience in sufficient detail to enable the assignment of 
an experience modifier upon termination of the professional 
employer agreement between the employer and PEO. 

The OIC shall also propose exempt Legislative rules for 
consideration by the Industrial Council to effectuate the 
purposes of section relating to provision of workers’
compensation through the PEO relationship, including the 
manner in which notice of default of a master policy must 
be given to client-employers.

3

Rules Projects

The OIC may also propose Legislative rules to implement the provisions of the 
new article regulating PEO’s, including but not limited to:

— (1) Requirements for the issuance and renewal of PEO licenses;

— (2) Requirements for denying, suspending, revoking, reinstating or limiting 
the practice of a PEO licensee;

— (3) Requirements for activating inactive or revoked PEO licenses;

— (4) Special financial and other licensing requirements for small, start-up 
PEOs; and

— (5) A schedule of fees.

The OIC may promulgate emergency Legislative rules to address any of these 
matters. 

4
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Rules Projects

OIC also anticipates bringing Rules 1 and 18 
before Industrial Council in April in order to 
address some claim handling issues as close as 
possible to July 1, 2008. 

OIC anticipates presenting for consideration by 
Industrial Council new rules relating to Utilization 
Review.
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West Virginia
Offices of the Insurance 

Commissioner

Appeal  Process

General Counsel Mary Jane Pickens

Workers’ Compensation Office of Judges

The Office of Judges (OOJ) hears protests to decisions 
entered by private carriers and self-insured employers.
The OOJ is under the supervision of a Chief Administrative 
Law Judge who is appointed by the Governor, with the 
advice and consent of the Senate.
The Chief Administrative Law Judge oversees 
Administrative Law Judges and other personnel that are 
necessary for the proper conduct of a system of 
administrative review of decisions that have been 
protested. 
After completion of the administrative review process, the 
OOJ renders a decision affirming, reversing or modifying 
the action protested. The OOJ may also remand a claim to 
a private carrier or self-insured employer for further 
development of the facts in the case.

1



14

Workers’ Compensation Board of Review

Parties may appeal decisions of the OOJ, as a matter of 
right, to the Board of Review (BOR). 
The BOR exercises exclusive jurisdiction over all appeals 
from the OOJ.
The BOR consists of three members. The Governor 
appoints, with the advice and consent of the Senate, three 
qualified attorneys to serve as the three members of the 
BOR. 
After a review of the case, the BOR issues a written 
decision in which it can affirm, reverse or modify the 
decision of the OOJ. The BOR can also remand the case to  
the OOJ for the taking of new evidence as may be 
necessary to develop the facts of the case.
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West Virginia Supreme Court of Appeals

The Supreme Court has discretion whether to hear 
an appeal of a BOR decision.
If the Supreme Court accepts a petition for appeal, 
the parties prepare and file the appeal briefs.
The Supreme Court may not conduct a de nova re-
weighing of the evidentiary record. 
If the Supreme Court reverses or modifies a BOR 
decision, it must state with specificity the basis for 
the reversal or modification.

3

West Virginia
Offices of the Insurance 

Commissioner

Fraud Resources

General Counsel Mary Jane Pickens
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Fraud Resources

The OIC has a dedicated Fraud Unit known as the 
Office of Inspector General (“OIG”).

All instances of suspected fraud must be reported 
to the OIG by any person engaged in the business 
of insurance.

The fraud reporting form is available on the OIC’s
website at www.wvinsurance.gov.

1

Fraud Resources

All claim forms and applications for coverage may 
contain a fraud warning.  

The fraud warning will be acceptable if it is 
substantially similar to the following:
“Any person who knowingly presents a false or 
fraudulent claim for payment of a loss or benefit or 
knowingly presents false information in an 
application for insurance is guilty of a crime and 
may be subject to fines and confinement in prison.”

2

Fraud Resources

Every insurer shall designate at least one (1) primary 
contact person but not more than four (4) primary contact 
persons who shall communicate with the Insurance Fraud 
Unit on matters relating to the reporting, investigation, and 
prosecution of suspected fraudulent insurance acts.

Every insurer shall notify the Insurance Fraud Unit in 
writing of the names, titles, addresses, and telephone 
numbers of the insurer's primary contact person or 
persons.  Any changes to information relating to the contact 
person or persons must be reported to the Insurance Fraud 
Unit within ten (10) days of the changes.

3
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Fraud Resources

Should be the person who will deal directly with 
the OIG.

Should not be the phone number of a person who 
is merely a message taker or forwarder. 

The address should be the mailing address of the 
person who is the contact, not merely a mail room 
drop.
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West Virginia
Offices of the Insurance 

Commissioner

Deliberate Intent

Attorney Richard Crynock

Deliberate Intent

The term “mandolidis” refers to the concept of a 
“deliberate intent” cause of action.

The West Virginia Workers’ Compensation Act 
gives covered employers a general immunity from 
employee suits for damages at common law or by 
statute resulting from work related injuries (W. Va. 
Code § 23-2-6).

1
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Deliberate Intent

The immunity is lost, however, if an employer acts 
with deliberate intention to injure an employee [W. 
Va. Code § 23-4-2(c)(2)]. 

If the deliberate intent exception applies, the 
employee may file an action for damages in 
excess of the workers’ compensation benefits that 
he or she would receive as a result of the 
compensable injury. 

2

Deliberate Intent

Until 1978, the “deliberate intention” exception was 
construed narrowly by the Supreme Court of 
Appeals of West Virginia.

An injured employee had to show that the work 
related injury was inflicted purposefully, willfully, 
and with specific intent, before the employer lost 
immunity from suit.

3

Deliberate Intent

In 1978, the West Virginia Supreme Court decided  
Mandolidis v. Elkins Industries, Inc., 161 W.Va. 
695, 246 S.E. 2d 907 (W.Va. 1978). This decision   
liberalized the definition of “deliberate intention.”
Ever since this decision, civil actions brought in 
West Virginia under the deliberate intent exception 
have been known as “Mandolidis” actions.

4
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Deliberate Intent

In 1983, in response to the Mandolidis decision, 
the West Virginia Legislature amended W. Va. 
Code § 23-4-2, to provide a statutory definition of 
“deliberate intention.”

The 1983 amendment set out alternative ways for 
an employee to prove the “deliberate intention”
exception, which would result in an employer 
losing tort immunity.

5

Deliberate Intent

Under the 1983 amendments, an employee could prove 
that that the employer acted with  a “consciously, 
subjectively and deliberately formed intention to produce 
the specific result of injury or death to an employee. [ W. 
Va. Code § 23-4-2(d)(2)(i)]

Alternatively, the employee could prove specified facts 
about an unsafe working condition to establish the 
employer’s deliberate intent to injure. [ W. Va. Code § 23-4-
2(d)(2)(ii)]. There is a five part test required to prove this 
theory.

6

Deliberate Intent

With these changes, it was more difficult for an 
employer to loose the immunity provided by the 
Workers’ Compensation Act. 

Since the 1983 legislative amendments, the Court 
held that W. Va. Code § 23-4-2(c)(2) should not 
serve to circumscribe a common law Mandolidis
claim, which is preserved within West Virginia’s 
common law tort system.

7
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Deliberate Intent

The Mandolidis claim is filed in Circuit Court, issues of fault 
are litigated, and there are no statutory limits on the type or 
amount of compensatory damages.  It has none of the 
administrative, no-fault characteristics associated with a 
workers’ compensation claim. 

The West Virginia Supreme Court has also held that W. Va. 
Code § 23-4-2(c)(2) is not integrally related to the operation 
of West Virginia’s workers’ compensation system.  It does 
not protect or enhance the ability of workers to obtain 
compensation benefits, i.e., fixed benefits without regard to 
fault for workplace injuries.  

8

Deliberate Intent

In 2005, the West Virginia Legislature re-visited 
the deliberate intent statute and made additional 
amendments.

Although the first theory, regarding whether the 
employer acted with a consciously, subjectively, 
and deliberately formed intention to produce the 
injury, remained the same, the injured employee 
now has an increased burden in establishing a 
cause of action under the second theory which 
requires the five part test.

9

Deliberate Intent

Under the five part test, the statute now requires 
that the employer, prior to the injury (which is 
new), had actual knowledge of the existence of the 
specific unsafe working condition (as opposed to 
the former language which required a subjective 
realization and appreciation) and of the high 
degree of risk and the strong probability of serious 
injury or death presented by the specific unsafe 
working condition.

10
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Deliberate Intent

Further, in order to prevail under the five part test, 
the plaintiff must still show that the unsafe working 
condition violated a “commonly accepted and well-
known safety standard within the industry or 
business of the employer.” However, the plaintiff 
must now have competent evidence of written 
standards or guidelines which reflect a consensus 
safety standard in industry or business.  It is 
important to note that the standards must now be 
written. 

11

Deliberate Intent

The statute now provides that the employer must 
intentionally expose an employee to an unsafe 
working condition.

Although the statute makes it clear that the plaintiff 
does not have to have file an underlying workers’
compensation claim in order to file a deliberate 
intent suit, it is clear that the plaintiff’s injuries or 
death must have been compensable under the 
workers’ compensation statute, even if no workers’
compensation claim has been filed.

12

Deliberate Intent

Previously, the “Employers’ Excess Liability Fund”
was established under Article 4C of Chapter 23 of 
the West Virginia Code, as a vehicle to provide 
coverage for employers subject to Chapter 23 who 
may be subjected to liability for excess damages 
because the injury of an employee results from the 
deliberate intention of the employer to produce the 
injury or death. This fund and its obligations were 
transferred to BrickStreet on January 1, 2006.

13
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Deliberate Intent

BrickStreet Insurance is required by the provisions of W. 
Va. Code § 23-4C-6 to offer insurance to provide for the 
benefits required by Article 4C until at least June 30, 2008. 
After that time, BrickStreet may choose to not offer this 
coverage. Currently, BrickStreet provides this coverage by 
special endorsement.

New private carriers, however, entering the market after 
July 1, 2008, are not required, by statute, to offer this type 
of coverage as part of their workers’ compensation policies.

14

Deliberate Intent

New private carriers entering the market on July 1, 
2008, are not required by statute to offer 
“deliberate intent” coverage as part of the required 
coverage under Chapter 23 of the West Virginia 
Code. 

15

West Virginia
Offices of the Insurance 

Commissioner

PTD Process

Attorney Richard Crynock
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PTD Process

Traditionally, the processing of permanent total disability 
(PTD) claims was separated into two distinct processes.

The first process was created for those applications for 
PTD benefits that had a date of injury on or before May 11, 
1995. These cases have been known as the “Old Law”
PTD cases.

The second process was created for those applications for 
PTD benefits that had a date of injury on or after May 12, 
1995. These cases have been know as the “New Law” PTD 
cases.

1

PTD Process

Given the passage of Senate Bill 2013 by the West Virginia 
Legislature in 2003, the difference between Old Law and 
New Law PTD cases was largely abolished, unless the 
application for PTD benefits was received on or before 
June 30, 2003.

As new carriers entering the West Virginia market on July 
1, 2008, you will be handling PTD applications which have 
been filed on or after July 1, 2003.

As such, the focus of this discussion will be how to handle 
PTD applications received, by you, on or after July 1, 2008.

2

PTD Process

A carrier needs to receive an application for PTD benefits.

After receiving the application, you will need to make sure 
that the claim in which the PTD application was filed was 
not barred for benefits.

For the most part, the claim will be open for consideration 
of benefits if the application was received within 5 years of 
the initial permanent partial disability (PPD) award or, in a 
case in which no PPD award was granted, within 5 years of 
closure.

3
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PTD Process

After making sure that the application was timely filed, then 
you need to determine if the claimant met the threshold 
requirements for PTD award consideration.

The threshold requirements are: (a) the claimant must have 
been awarded the sum of 50% in prior PPD awards; (b) the 
claimant must have suffered a single occupational injury or 
disease which results in a finding by the former Workers’
Compensation Commission that the claimant has suffered 
a medical impairment of 50%; or (c) the claimant has 
sustained a 35% statutory disability pursuant to the 
provisions of W. Va. Code § 23-4-6(f).

4

PTD Process

If the claimant does not meet the threshold 
requirements for PTD award consideration, issue a 
decision denying reopening of the claim.

If the claimant does meet the threshold 
requirements, you will need, if appropriate, to 
arrange for examinations of the claimant, and 
obtain all pertinent records concerning the 
claimant’s medical history.

5

PTD Process

In the past, this information would be forwarded to the 
Interdisciplinary Examining Board (IEB) to determine if the 
claimant was eligible for a PTD award.
The IEB terminated upon termination of the Workers’
Compensation Commission (12-31-05) and, by statute, all 
administrative and adjudicatory functions performed by the 
IEB shall be performed by a reviewing body (such as a 
private carrier), for those claims over which it would have 
jurisdiction.
W. Va. Code § 23-4-6(j) notes that a reviewing body (RB) 
must employ or otherwise engage adequate resources, 
including medical professionals, to perform the functions of 
the former IEB.

6
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PTD Process

In terms of administrative processing, the RB must 
state its initial recommendations, in writing, and 
allow the parties 30 days to respond, in writing, to 
the initial recommendations.
The RB shall review any responses and issue its 
final recommendations.
The final recommendations shall be effectuated by 
the entry of an appropriate decision by the private 
carrier of self-insured employer.

7

PTD Process

Turning to the actual evaluation process, the RB must 
determine whether the claimant has: (a) suffered whole 
body medical impairment of 50% or more from either an 
occupational injury or occupational disease (or from a 
combination of occupational injuries and diseases); or (b) 
sustained a 35% statutory disability pursuant to W. Va. 
Code § 23-4-6(f). 

If the claimant does not meet either the 50% or 35% 
requirement, the request for PTD benefits must be denied.

8

PTD Process

If the claimant does meet the 50% or 35% threshold, the 
RB continues the review on a vocational basis.

In particular, a "disability which renders the injured 
employee unable to engage in substantial gainful activity 
requiring skills or abilities which can be acquired or which 
are comparable to those of any gainful activity in which he 
or she has previously engaged with some regularity and 
over a substantial period of time shall be considered in 
determining the issue of total disability."

9
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PTD Process

As part of the vocational consideration, the comparability of 
pre-injury income to post-disability income will not be a 
factor in determining permanent total disability.

In addition, the geographic availability of gainful 
employment within a driving distance of 75 miles from the 
residence of the employee or within the distance from the 
residence of the employee to his or her pre-injury 
employment, whichever is greater, will be a factor in 
determining permanent total disability.

10

PTD Process

Following the vocational review, if the RB determines that 
the claimant is not entitled to PTD benefits, the carrier must 
issue a ruling denying the request for PTD benefits.
On the other hand, if the RB determines that the claimant is 
entitled to PTD benefits, the carrier must issue a decision 
granting PTD benefits.
If granted, the date of onset of the PTD benefits is the date 
when a properly completed and supported application for 
PTD benefits was filed.
Also, the PTD benefits will terminate when the claimant 
reaches 70 years of age.

11

West Virginia
Offices of the Insurance 

Commissioner

Surcharges and Claims Index

Assistant Commissioner Mike Riley
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Premium Algorithm

Premium Algorithm

Premium Algorithm

Although presentation is detailed the framework for 
arriving at Estimated Premium should be what 
carriers are accustomed to in other states
Presented in this manner to serve 2 purposes
— How premium should be built
— How to treat WV’s Taxes and Surcharges and

program accordingly
Surcharge applicability requires the tracking of 
certain premium elements separately.

3
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Surcharge Applicability Rules

No premium taxes paid for State Act WC 
premiums
In lieu of premium taxes, two separate WC 
surcharges are assessed (Debt Reduction and 
Regulatory Surcharges)
Regulatory Surcharge = 5.5%
Debt Reduction = 9%
Not all Premiums reported as Line 16 
premiums on a carriers P&C annual statement 
are subject to the WC surcharges

4

Which premium is subject to what taxes 
or surcharges

Must look to the underlying benefits provided
State Act coverage is subject to WC surcharges
Federal Acts coverage is not subject to WC surcharges, but 
is subject to Ch 33 premium taxes
— USL&H, Admiralty, FELA etc.
— Advisory class codes add the suffix “F” or “M”

Employers Liability coverage is not subject to WC 
surcharges, but is subject to Ch. 33 premium taxes
Federal Coal Mine Health and Safety coverage (FBL) is not 
subject to WC surcharges, but is subject to Ch. 33 premium 
taxes
Mandatory Foreign and Domestic Terrorism Premium 
endorsement coverage are subject to WC surcharges

5

Deductible Credits and Surcharges

Must add back any premium reduction associated with a 
deductible credit prior to determining WC surcharge 
assessable premium
Reason the deductible premium credit amount is added 
back is that the Self-insured community is also subject to 
WC surcharges
Additional information available at
— www.wvinsurance.gov “Workers’ Compensation

Surcharges Summary”
— WV Code Ch. 23-2C-3(f)
— WV Rule 85-6
— Michael.Riley@wvinsurance.gov

6
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WC Surcharges FAQs

WC Surcharge rates must correspond with the 
effective date of the controlling policy
WC Surcharge remittances are made at the same 
time premium taxes are remitted (April 25, July 25, 
Oct 25, and Mar 1)
New tax forms are being finalized and will be 
mailed to all licensed carriers prior to July 1, 2008
WC Surcharges are to be reflected on each 
premium invoice, regardless of payment interval
Each WC Surcharge shall be listed as a separate 
line item 

7

Claims Index

Purpose is to provide a uniform system for 
gathering injured workers claims information and 
making available to other insurers
Maintained by the OIC
Contains basic demographic data by SSN to assist 
insurers in obtaining contact information of other 
insurers who posses detailed info of a prior claim
Claims index is populated using EDI Reporting
Claims index application are available online at 
www.wvinsurance.gov

8

EDI Reporting – FROI / SROI

WV requires FROI and SROI reporting
WV utilizes EDI Release 3
No WV state specific data elements
EDI Implementation Guide available at 
www.wvinsurance.gov
WV contracts with Claims Harbor for EDI reporting
Compliance with FROI reporting requirements is 
required when an insurer begins writing in WV.

9
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EDI Reporting – FROI / SROI

SROI data reporting is required beginning 07/01/08. If 
needed, WV will permit additional time for testing and 
phase-in of SROI reporting. This grace period ends 
12/31/08. SROI reporting must retroactively include data 
back to the initial underwriting in WV

Prior approval from WVOIC is required if the SROI testing 
will extend past the date when the private carrier enters the 
WV market

Testing of the SROI data must be successfully completed 
prior to the carrier sending information

10

West Virginia
Offices of the Insurance 

Commissioner

Managed Care Network

Dr. James Becker

Overview of Managed Health Care Plans 
and Workers’ Compensation Care 

The unique nature of work injuries
Accessing specialty care
Maximizing recovery 
Coordinating the return-to-work
Tracking performance

1
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The Four Legs of a Workers’
Compensation Claim

Medical Care

Wage  
Replacement

Death Benefit

Permanent 
Impairment

2

Managed Care Network Approval Process

Application process

How do we determine network adequacy?

3

Managed Health Care Plans 
If injured workers are to be channeled into a network of providers, then 
the network must be an integral part of an approved workers’
compensation managed health care plan (MHCP)

MHCP applications are available in two options and may be found at: 
http://www.wvinsurance.gov/wc/medical/ManagedHealthPlans.htm

Non-Fiduciary (PPO and/or Network Only)

Fiduciary (HMO)

MHCP applicant may request approval by county or the entire state.  
MHCP’s may only operate in the counties for which they are approved

Eight workers’ compensation MHCP’s are currently approved, and 
others are in the application process.  Approved plans and their contact 
information are located at:  
http://www.wvinsurance.gov/wc/medical/wvapprovedplans.htm

4
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Managed Health Care Plans
An approved MHCP may deviate from the workers’
compensation OIC Maximum Reimbursement Fee 
Schedules.  Maximum fee schedules may be found at:  
http://www.wvinsurance.gov/wc/medical/FiscalYear2006.htm

Two particular Rules govern in addition to WV Code Chapter 
23.4.3.:
— Series 85 Rule 20 – Claim Management and Treatment

Guidelines
— http://www.wvsos.com/csrdocs/worddocs/85-20.doc
— Series 85 Rule 21 – Managed Health Care Plans 
— http://www.wvsos.com/csrdocs/worddocs/85-21.doc

5

Managed Health Care Plans

When an approved managed health care plan contracts their plan to a 
client, the client is required to utilize the CM, UR, QA, etc. procedures 
as established in the MHCP.  Typically the MHCP administers these 
procedures on behalf of its client.  If the client chooses to perform these 
procedures itself, it may do so by adopting and implementing said 
procedures as approved for the MHCP.  In such cases, the MHCP is
required to provide oversight of these procedures and include the 
results in its QA process and reporting.  In these instances, the contract 
between the MHCP and the client should clearly delineate the actions 
and responsibilities that will be performed by both parties.  Additionally, 
the MHCP should further notify the OIC and comment as to how the
MHCP intends to fulfill the oversight and other responsibilities of its 
client relationship.  If the client of a MHCP intends to utilize its own CM, 
UR or QA procedures without adhering to the MHCP procedures, the
client will be required to file their own MHCP application.

6

Managed Health Care Plans

If a carrier has access to an approved MHCP, it is mandatory that all 
employers covered by that carrier use their MHCP.
MHCP applicant must be licensed in WV through Secretary of State’s 
Office and provide OIC with either a Certificate of Authority (for foreign 
corporations) or a Certificate of Existence (for domestic corporations).
If carrier, payor and/or provider have any payment, billing or coding 
questions they should be addressed between carrier, payor or provider 
as the OIC is the regulator and cannot resolve these types of issues.
All WV healthcare practitioners must use the Uniform Credentialing and 
Re-credentialing Application Forms.  These forms may be found at:  
http://www.wvinsurance.gov/credentialing/uniform_cred_instructions.htm
Please contact the Medical Rates & Plans Division of the OIC for
additional questions or concerns at:  304  558-6279 ext. 1233.

7



32

Rule 20 Medical Management

85CSR20 went into effect June 14, 2004

It remains the key treatment guideline for WV 
claims

Covers the full scope of reporting, diagnosis, 
treatment and rating of work-related conditions

Special sections address chronic pain, opiate use, 
psychiatric and impairment ratings

8

Rule 20 Medical Management

Conditions not covered in Rule 20: asthma, 
specific toxic exposures, traumatic brain injury

Use of other medical guidelines to manage claims

Examples: FDA recommendations, ACOEM 
guidelines, ODG, National Guidelines 
Clearinghouse

Explain the facts clearly and logically!

9

Medical Fee Schedule

Medicare-based fee schedule

Serves as a “maximum allowable”

Managed Health Care Plans are NOT subject to 
our fee schedule

10
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Permanent Partial Awards

West Virginia remains an AMA Guides 4th Edition
State
Rule 20 further addresses permanent partial 
impairment awards in section VII.
Carpal Tunnel Syndrome is capped at a maximum 
of 6% per side
Spine rating is performed using first ROM and then 
placement into the diagnosis tables included in the 
Rule

11

Rule 20 and the 4th Edition

“All evaluations, examinations, reports, and 
opinions with regard to the degree of permanent 
whole body medical impairment which an injured 
worker has suffered shall be conducted and 
composed in accordance with the “Guides to the 
Evaluation of Permanent Impairment,” (4th ed. 
1993), as published by the American Medical 
Association.”

» WV 85CSR20-65.1

12

Independent Medical Evaluations

“Upon termination of the Commission, no 
registration is required of independent medical 
examiners”
“IMEs are required to verify and provide proof of 
their ABMS or AOA certification”
“In turn,…(the carrier) is required to maintain this 
proof of certification..”

»85CSR20 5.9a.

13
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Role of IMEs

Determine if the injured worker has reached 
Maximal Medical Improvement 

Rate permanent impairment

Evaluate causality

Offer second opinion and treatment redirection

Build documentation in the file

14

Dennis Kokulak
NCCI State Relations Executive
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Item Filings Approved in West Virginia

July 1, 2007
09-WV-2006—Revision to Basic Manual 
Classification to Charitable or Welfare 
Organizations and Bottling Operations

July 1, 200708-WV-2006—West Virginia Basic Manual 
Classifications

July 1, 200706-WV-2006—Experience Rating Plan

July 1, 200603-WV-2006—Dispute Resolution Process

July 1, 200602-WV-2006—Basic Manual

January 1, 200602-WV-2005—West Virginia Terrorism Risk 
Insurance Act of 2005

July 1, 200601-WV-2005—Forms Manual

Effective DateItem Filings

1

Item Filings Approved in West Virginia

July 1, 2008 –
June 30, 2009

01-WV-2007—West Virginia Short Rate 
Cancellation Rule (Waiver)

July 1, 2008

05-WV-2007—National Endorsements:
WC 00 04 04
WC 00 04 06A
WC 00 04 07
WC 00 04 08  

September 1, 200704-WV-2007—Revision of Experience Rating Plan 
Rule 5-A: Employee Leasing - PEOs

October 1, 200703-WV-3007—Appendix E Table of Classifications 
by Hazard Groups

July 1, 200702-WV-2007—West Virginia Workers’
Compensation Premium Algorithm

Effective DateItem Filings

2

Item Filings Approved in West Virginia

January 1, 2008P-1405—Terrorism Risk Insurance Reauthorization 
Act of 2007 Endorsement

January 1, 2008B-1405—Terrorism Risk Insurance Reauthorization 
Act of 2007

July 1, 2008
06-WV-2007 (A)---Revision to Basic Manual Rule 
3-A and West Virginia Premium Algorithm

July 1, 2007B-1397—Revision to Basic Manual Classifications 
and Rules

October 1, 2007B-1387A—Revisions to Basic Manual 
Classifications – Amendment

July 1, 200809-WV-2007—Retrospective Rating Plan
January 1, 200808-WV-2007—Basic Manual Schedule Rating

Effective DateItem Filings

3
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Upcoming Filings

Classification Filings
State Special Cancellation Endorsement
TRIPRA
Adoption of national codes: coal and stevedoring
PEO Rules
Residual Market Filings

— WCIP
— LSRP
— ARAP
— VCAP

4

State Specific Classification Codes

Rehabilitation Services—Participants—Unpaid Work-
Based Training Program
Pay for such trainees shall be a fixed sum of $200 per 
person per month

9448

Carbon Mfg.
Applied to manufacturing carbon from burning gas, oil, or 
similar products.  Drilling wells, erecting or dismantling 
derricks; manufacturing casing head gas to be separately 
rated.

4565

Board of Education—Students—Unpaid Work-Based 
Training Program
Pay for such trainees shall be a fixed sum of $200 per 
person per month

9449

DescriptionClass Code

5

Experience Rating Premium Eligibility

$4,500 / $9,000$3,500 / $7,000

Effective July 1, 2008Effective July 1, 2007

Projected impact of eligibility increase on state 

rating population

6
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POC Requirements
Proof of Coverage (POC) timeliness requirements for 

policies effective July 1, 2008 and subsequent:

Not required as WV is a non-
continuous coverage stateNon-renewals

Within 30 days from reinstatement 
issuance dateReinstatements

10 days prior to cancellation 
effective dateCancellations

Within 30 days from endorsement 
issuance date

Endorsement issued after Policy 
Effective Date

Within 30 days of policy effective 
date

New Business, Renewal, Annual 
Rerate, included state schedule 
pages and endorsement

TimeframePolicy Document

7

Loss Cost Development

Cary Ginter, ACAS MAAA
NCCI State Actuary

NCCI West Virginia Loss Cost Filings

July 1, 2006
- No experience rating values included

- BrickStreet Mutual estimate of the July 1, 2006 
payroll (6-month policies) used to achieve 
overall loss cost level change

- After Appeals deadline and review of the 
revised payroll distribution, the loss costs were 
not recalibrated for January 1, 2007 policies

1
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NCCI West Virginia Loss Cost Filings

July 1, 2007
– Approved as filed
– Experience rating values included
– Change applied to all-outstanding policies (necessary 

due to policy staggering)

July 1, 2008
– Approved as filed
– Used Financial Call data as of 12/31/2006

• Previously used fiscal-accident year data as of 6/30/2006 
provided by BrickStreet Mutual

– Retrospective rating values included

2

Overall Loss Cost Level Change

Calendar-accident year data

Paid losses

Loss development
– Adjusted to reflect reform and other system changes
– Tail factors judgmentally selected

Trend selected based on other NCCI states

Private Carrier LAE Provision based on seven regional 
states

Benefits Change
– Estimated increase in Maximum Weekly Benefit

3

Distribution of Overall Change to Classes

West Virginia had 94 class “groups”, but NCCI 
class plan has nearly 600 classifications

No standard classification exceptions in West  
Virginia previously

West Virginia Workers’ Comp Statistical Plan data 
under NCCI class system
– Received first submission (6 months) in March 2008

4
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Distribution of Overall Change to Classes:
Use of Seven Regional States

Started with average classification loss costs from seven 
regional states 
– Alabama, Kentucky, Maryland, N. Carolina, S. Carolina, Tennessee, and 

Virginia

Estimated difference in benefits levels between West 
Virginia and regional states using average loss cost (ex 
Coal Mine); applied this adjustment and balanced to 
current overall average loss cost

Other adjustments incorporated (e.g., LAE)

Swing limits of +/- 25% applied
– Test correction process applied to ensure overall change based on WV 

experience is achieved

5

July 1, 2008 Loss Cost Changes:
Top Ten Premium Classes

7/1/2007 7/1/2008
Classification Loss Cost Loss Cost % Change

Coal Mine—Underground, NOC $28.84 $26.62 -7.7%
Coal Mine—Surface $8.69 $8.89 +2.3%

Carpentry $11.28 $11.55 +2.4%
Hospital: Professional Employees $1.02 $1.05 +2.9%

Trucking—Local Hauling Only $6.76 $7.28 +7.7%
Clerical Office Employees $0.24 $0.23 -4.2%

Drivers, Chauffeurs and Their Helpers NOC—Commercial $4.13 $3.98 -3.6%
College—All Other Employees $2.17 $2.19 +0.9%

College—Professional Employees and Clerical $0.34 $0.34 0.0%
Excavation and Drivers $5.12 $5.32 +3.9%

6

Experience & Retrospective Rating Values

NCCI experience rating plan implemented 
July 1, 2007
– Experience rating (ER) formula changed
– ER values (ELRs and D-ratios) determined 

using similar method to loss costs
– Off-Balance estimated & impact included in loss 

costs

NCCI retrospective rating plan effective July 
1, 2008

7
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Coal Mine Disease Loss Costs

Two state specials covering only State Act 
Coverage discontinued effective July 1, 
2008

Frequency and severity approach applied
– Data provided by BrickStreet used for State Act 

disease loss costs
– Data provided by the U.S. Dept. of Labor 

employed for Federal Act disease loss costs

8

James R. Nau, CPCU, ARM, WCP
General Manager

NCCI Residual Market

Our Goal

To maintain self-funded residual markets in 
accordance with HB 4381.  
To provide high quality services aided by 
automation.

1
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The Plan
NCCI’s Workers’ Compensation Insurance Plan (Plan) is the basic 
instrument through which eligible employers that would otherwise be 
unable to obtain necessary insurance coverage can secure workers’
compensation insurance. The Plan includes filed and state-approved 
rules that govern assignment, administration, eligibility, and policy 
issuance requirements.

• Establish Eligibility
• Process Applications
• Ensure Equitable Distribution
• Select Servicing Carriers
• Collect/Maintain Policy Data
• Interpret Plan Rules

• Pricing and Rating Programs
• Regulator Communication
• Carrier Audits and Monitoring
• Identify Plan Participants
• Provide/Manage Dispute 

Resolution

2

RMAPS® Online 
Application Service

92% of Applications Received on-line
Same day turn around with complete information

3

Carrier Standards, Selection, Oversight, 
and Performance

Assigned Carrier Performance Standards

Servicing Carrier Competitive Selection Process

Oversight
– Visitations
– Servicing Carrier Operations Reporting (SCOR)
– Self Audits
– On-Site Audits

4
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Reinsurance Mechanism

Servicing Carriers will be reinsured through quota 
share reinsurance agreements administered by the 
National Workers’ Compensation Reinsurance 
Association

All workers’ compensation carriers must participate 
based on voluntary workers’ compensation written 
premium in West Virginia

5

On-line Resources at ncci.com

• Residual market Circulars for Plans 
and Pools

• SCSOSsm Service

• Residual Market Management 
Summary

• Pool Data Online

• Pool Uncollectible Premium

• Reinsurance Pools Results and 
Information (RPRI)

• Residual Market Quarterly Results

• Servicing Carrier Reference Guide

• Noncompliance/Compliance Data 

6

2008 Residual Market Implementation 
Timeline (Tentative)

• File Workers’ Compensation Insurance Plan April
• Issue Servicing Carrier RFP May
• OIC Makes Servicing Carrier Selections August
• File Residual Market Rates and Rating Plans August
• Conduct Agent Education Workshops September
• Ready to Process Applications November
• Residual Market Opens January 2009

7
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Question and Answer Session

Deputy Commissioner Bill Kenny
Assistant Commissioner Michael Riley

General Counsel Mary Jane Pickens
Associate Counsel Richard Crynock

Dr. James Becker
NCCI State Relations Executive Dennis Kokulak

NCCI State Actuary Cary Ginter
NCCI Residual Market Manager James Nau

CONTACT INFORMATION

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance 
Commissioner

1-888-TRY-WVIC
1-888-879-9842

www.wvinsurance.gov


