
West Virginia Employers’ Information Meeting – Frequently Asked Questions 
 
 

 
1. What is NCCI? 

 
NCCI is West Virginia’s designated rating organization for workers compensation 
insurance.  NCCI provides industry participants with critical information regarding rates, 
filings, data reporting requirements, policy forms and endorsements, classifications,  and 
other  
 

2. Can employers purchase NCCI’s Basic Manual and other underwriting manuals? 
 
Yes; however, NCCI’s manuals are technical tools written for insurance professionals.    
NCCI encourages employers to work with their insurers and agents for help with 
questions about their workers compensation policy. 
 

3. When will the Proof of Coverage system be available in West Virginia?  Will this system 
be available for employers to use?  
 
The Proof of Coverage system is scheduled to be available later this year.  An employer 
will be able to access this system through the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance 
Commissioner's website. 
 

4. How does Part 3, Other States Coverage of the Workers Compensation Policy apply?  
 
When there are states listed in section 3.C of the Information page of a workers 
compensation policy, and the insured begins any operations or work in any of the states 
listed (including any minimal contact that might trigger the application of that state’s 
workers compensation law), the policy applies as though that state were listed in section  
3.A of the Information Page.   
 
Because Part Three coverage is not intended to apply to ongoing or anticipated 
operations of the employer, there is no premium collected up front for coverage under 
that section, regardless of the extent of the insured’s known operations or the number of 
states listed in Part 3.C of the Information Page.  Only if the insured actually begins 
operations in a state listed in Part 3.C of the Information Page will there be a payroll base 
or other exposure base for premium, and in that event the appropriate state rate or rates 
will be used to calculate the premium for coverage under Part 3.  The insured must 
advise the carrier within thirty days of beginning any work in any state not listed in section 
3.A or the carrier may be able to exclude coverage for the employer’s exposure in that 
state.     
   

5. Has West Virginia employers’ historical data been provided by BrickStreet to NCCI? 
 
Yes, NCCI has received employers’ historical premium and loss data. This information 
was critical in the development of NCCI’s initial loss cost filing impacting all employers 
under the new classification system filed by NCCI and approved by the West Virginia 
Office of Insurance Commission.  
 

6. What is Employers Liability insurance?  What limits will be available? 
 
Part Two of the workers compensation insurance policy provides “Employers Liability” 
insurance coverage.   Part One of the policy covers those statutory benefits an employer 
is required to provide to injured employees under the state’s workers compensation law; 
Part Two covers other claims recoverable in damages by third parties from the insured.  
 
Under NCCI’s Basic Manual, increased limits for employers liability coverage are 
available up to $500,000 for “Bodily Injury by Accident”; $500,000 for “Bodily Injury by 
Disease for each employee”; and $500,000 for “Bodily Injury by Disease (policy limit)”.   
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7. When will NCCI’s Experience Rating Plan rules become effective in West Virginia?    
 
NCCI anticipates filing the Experience Rating Plan rules to be effective in West Virginia 
for policies effective on and after July 1, 2007. 
 

8. How will experience modification factors be calculated for employers with multi-state 
operations?   Will these factors include West Virginia experience? 
 
For an employer with multi-state operations, NCCI will combine the employer’s West 
Virginia experience with its experience in other states using the NCCI Experience Rating 
Plan to calculate a single experience modification factor. 
 

9. How will temporary staffing agencies be written July 1, 2006 and after?  Currently, there 
is one class code that is applied to the policy. 
 
Employees of temporary staffing agencies assigned to a client company, will be classified 
the same as the direct employees of the client company who perform the same or similar 
duties.  If the client company has no direct employees performing the same or similar 
duties, then the employees of the temporary staffing agencies will be classified as if they 
were the direct employees of the client company. 
 

10. What is a “standard exception” and how is it applied to a policy? 
 
Standard exception classification codes describe occupations or duties that are common 
to many businesses such as clerical and drafting duties, drivers, chauffeurs, messengers, 
and their helpers, outside salespersons or collectors, and automobile salespersons.  
Payroll for standard exception classification codes is generally not included in calculating 
the premium for a basic classification code.  However, some basic classification codes by 
definition do include activities that would otherwise be broken out into a standard 
exception code. 
 
Standard exception classification codes are assigned when all of the following conditions 
are met:  
 
• The basic classification(s) wording applicable to the business does not include one 

of the standard exceptions; and 
• Other rules do not prohibit the assignment of the standard exception code(s); and 
• The payroll meets the conditions for the application of the standard exception code 

in question. 
 

Under what conditions can an employer’s payroll be assigned multiple classification codes? 
 
More than one basic classification may be assigned to the payroll of an insured who 
meets the following conditions: 
 
• The insured’s principal business is described by a basic classification code that 

requires payroll for certain operations or employees to be separately rated; 
The insured conducts one or more of the following operations: 
o Construction or erection 
o Farming 
o Employee leasing, labor contracting, temporary labor services 
o Mercantile business 

• The insured conducts more than one operation in a state 
 

 
11. When volunteers elect to be covered, how is their payroll determined and how are they 

classified? 
 
Typically, volunteers are classified as if they were regular paid employees of a business. 
Premium is based on the payroll normally received by regular employees doing the same 
or similar work. 
 



12. How are volunteer firefighters classified and what payroll amount is used in the 
calculation of premium for them? 
 
Volunteer firefighters are classified to code 7704 – Firefighters & Drivers. When part-time 
or volunteer firefighters are employed, the actual payroll of all such persons is included 
with the payroll of regular firefighters in calculating the premium.  In no case, however, is 
the payroll of a volunteer firefighter calculated at less than $300 per person on an annual 
basis. 
 

13. How are domestic workers covered? 
 
Statutory workers compensation benefits for a domestic worker may be insured as 
follows: 
• By the Standard Policy, or 
• By attaching the West Virginia Compensation and Employers Liability Coverage 

For Domestic Service Employees Endorsement (WC 47 03 14) 
 

Premium for coverage of a domestic worker is determined on a per capita basis, meaning 
it is based upon the number of domestic workers being covered rather than the payroll for 
those workers.   
 

 
14. How should overtime pay be reported?   

 
Extra pay for overtime is excluded if the insured maintains separate records of overtime 
pay by employee and by classification code.  The following table illustrates some 
common situations and how payroll should be reported for each: 

 
 

If the employer has maintained separate 
records for. . . Then . . . 

Extra pay earned for overtime separately by 
employee and by class code 

The entire extra pay is excluded 

Total pay earned for overtime (regular pay 
plus overtime pay) in one combined amount, 
and time and one-half is paid for overtime 

1/3 of the total pay should be 
excluded 

Double time is paid for overtime and the total 
pay for such overtime is recorded separately 

1/2 of the total pay for double time 
should be excluded 

 
 
Examples: 

 
1.   The normal working day is 7 hours. The hourly wage is $10 per hour. If any employee 

works more than 7 hours, he or she receives $20 per extra hour.    
• An employee works 7 hours and receives $70. There is no overtime payroll to 

exclude.   
• An employee works 8 hours and receives $90. The excluded overtime amount is 

$10. It is the increment over the basic hourly wage of $10, which is excluded from 
the wage paid for the 8th hour.  
 

A night-shift employee works longer hours than usual and consequently receives an 
increase in rate of pay above the regular night-shift rate for extra hours. Provided the 
increase is paid at the traditional overtime rate of pay, the increased rate of pay over the 
regular night-shift rate for the extra hours is excluded. 

 
 
 
 
  

 



2.   An employee's normal work week is 40 hours for which he is paid $10 per hour. The 
employee worked 44 hours in a particular week. For the 4 overtime hours (the 41st 
through 44th), the employee earned $15 per hour. The extra pay earned by the employee 
for overtime is $20 and is excluded.  
 
44 hours for the week less 40 hours regular work week = 4 hours overtime  

 
4 x $15 overtime pay less 4 x $10 normal hourly wage = $20 extra pay for overtime  

 
An employee works during his or her paid vacation period or on a paid holiday and 
receives straight time pay in addition to his or her regular vacation or holiday pay. Under 
the basis of premium rule, unworked vacation pay or holiday pay must always be 
included in the payroll. In this case we are dealing only with the actual pay during the 
worked vacation period, none of which constitutes overtime.  

 
15. Are “cafeteria plans” included or excluded in premium determination? 

 
All payments made or due employees prior to a cafeteria plan reduction are included in 
payroll determination if the amount of the contribution is included in the wages paid to the 
employee prior to any deductions. Conversely, an employer's matching funds for 401K 
contributions are not be included in determining premium. 

 
16. If an employee is paid less than minimum wage and also receives tips, what payroll 

amount would be used for that employee?  
 
The actual wage amount paid to an employee is the basis of payroll for the purpose of 
determining premium for workers compensation.  Tips are excluded from payroll. 
 

17. What type of documentation is an employer required to maintain with regard to its 
payroll? 
 
The type of documentation for payroll verification required varies by carrier and the 
operations of the business of a given employer.  Typically, carriers will require an 
employer to maintain records that prove the amount of time each employee worked and 
how much each was paid in a given time period (time sheets and general ledgers).  State 
statutes, administrative rules and court cases may also establish record keeping 
requirements, especially if the employer utilizes the services of “independent 
contractors.”  Employers should check with their agent at the beginning of the policy 
period for guidance on the specific records their carrier will expect the employer to 
maintain. 
 

18. What is the residual market and how is it funded? 
 
In general, most states require employers to provide workers compensation benefits for 
their employees.  Those benefits include payment for medical care and compensation for 
lost wages due to injury, occupational disease, or death arising out of employment. Most 
employers purchase workers compensation insurance to meet their statutory obligation to 
provide such benefits.   
 
Sometimes employers cannot obtain workers compensation insurance in the voluntary 
market.  Some of the reasons coverage may not be available to an employer in the 
voluntary market include: 
• financial history of the employer, 
• loss experience of the employer is greater than industry-average, 
• nature of the employer’s business (such as ultra-hazardous industries),  
• insufficient premium generated by a small payroll, or 
• the employer is a brand new business. 
 

 



Many states have created a residual market to guarantee all eligible employers have 
access to workers compensation insurance.  A residual market is also sometimes called 
the market of last resort, the assigned risk market, or the involuntary market. Eligible 
employers generally will not be refused coverage by a carrier who is initially assigned to 
them in the residual market.   
 
NCCI’s Workers Compensation Insurance Plan (WCIP) is filed and approved in those 
states in which NCCI administers the residual market.  The WCIP contains the rules for 
administration of the residual market and those rules require the residual market to be 
self funded.  Assigned risk rates and additional pricing programs, which are filed and 
approved by the state’s regulatory authority, assist in achieving the objective of a self-
funded residual market mechanism. 


