
Who do I contact for 
information about my claim? 

Your workers’ compensation claim falls 
within a group of claims that are 
administered by the West Virginia 
Offices of the Insurance Commissioner.  
Your claim is managed on behalf of the 
Insurance Commissioner by Sedgwick 
CMS, a company which specializes in 
the management of workers’ 
compensation claims.  If you have any 
questions regarding your claim, or if you 
have not heard from Sedgwick CMS 
within 14 days of filing your claim, you 
should contact them directly at: 

Sedgwick CMS 
P.O. Box 14490 

Lexington, KY 40512 
1-877-925-5580 

 
How does the claims process 
work? 

When Sedgwick CMS receives your 
claim, it will receive a claim number and 
will be assigned to a claims adjuster.  
The claim number will identify your 
claim, and your claims adjuster will work 
with you to ensure that you receive the 
proper medical care and benefits, and to 
assist you with an appropriate return to 
work. 

Once Sedgwick CMS has received your 
claim application, your claim will be 
reviewed, and you will receive a decision 
advising you whether your claim has 
been approved or denied, and what 

medical conditions are covered by your 
claim.  If you disagree with the decision, 
you have a right to protest the denial by 
filing a written protest with the Workers’ 
Compensation Office of Judges within 
60 days from the day you receive the 
decision.  Protests must be in writing, 
and must include a copy of the decision 
being protested.  Your protest must be 
sent to: 

Office of Judges 
P.O. Box 2233 

Charleston, WV 25328-2233 
 

Copies of your protest must also be sent 
to your employer, and to the West 
Virginia Offices of the Insurance 
Commissioner at the following address: 

Sedgwick CMS/OIC 
P.O. Box 14490 

Lexington, KY 40512 
 

Under West Virginia law, by filing a 
workers’ compensation claim you 
irrevocably agree that any physician may 
discuss, orally or in writing, your medical 
history and course of treatment with 
your employer and with Sedgwick CMS.  
This information can include both 
information regarding your occupational 
injury or disease, as well as information 
regarding any prior injury or disease of 
the portion of your body which is the 
subject of your workers’ compensation 
claim. 

 

 

What if I miss work because of 
my injury? 

If you are unable to return to work for 
four or more consecutive days, you may 
be eligible for temporary total disability 
benefits.  In order to receive these 
benefits, your treating physician must 
certify on the proper forms that you are 
unable to return to work.   

Depending on the nature of your injury, 
you may also be referred by Sedgwick  
CMS for a medical examination, which 
Sedgwick CMS will pay for, to evaluate 
your medical condition and the progress 
of your recovery.  You may also be 
referred to a case management 
professional, who will assist you with 
your efforts to return to work. 

You may also be able to return to work 
during your recovery period.  Your 
claims adjuster may consult with your 
physician and your employer to 
determine whether your job duties can 
be modified to accommodate your injury 
during your recovery period. 

How do I Choose a Physician? 

If your illness or injury is an 
emergency, you should seek medical 
treatment at the nearest medical 
facility that can treat your illness or 
injury. 

For treatment that is not emergency 
treatment, you may select the physician of 
your choice, so long as that physician 
accepts payment from State-administered 



workers’ compensation funds.  Your 
physician will be able to provide you 
with this information. 

How Can I Change My 
Physician? 

To change your treating physician, you 
must obtain prior authorization from 
your claims adjuster.   

How do I get Medications? 

Prior authorization is not required for 
most medications if they are prescribed 
within the first two weeks after the date 
on which you were injured.  Certain 
narcotic medications require prior 
authorization by your claims adjuster 
after this initial two-week period, and all 
medications require prior authorization 
by your claims adjuster after twelve 
weeks from your date of injury. 

If your physician prescribes a brand-
name medication, and a generic brand of 
that medication is available, your 
pharmacist will fill your prescription 
with the generic brand.  If a generic 
brand of the prescribed medication is 
available, and you choose to be provided 
with a brand-name medication, you 
must personally pay the difference 
between the cost of the generic brand 
and the brand-name medication. 

If you have any questions regarding 
medications, you should contact your 
Sedgwick CMS claims adjuster at 
1-877-925-5580.   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1-888-TRY-WVIC 

P.O. Box 50540 
Charleston, WV 25305-0540 
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