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1) When can workers’ compensation carriers begin submitting filings with 

West Virginia’s Rates and Forms Division? 
 

The Rates and Forms Division is accepting filings from workers’ 
compensation carriers now.  Filing requirements and instruction can be 
found at www.wvinsurance.gov/company/rate_filing_info.htm.   
 

2) What are some of the expected future NCCI filings? 
 

NCCI anticipates making the following item filings prior to WV workers’ 
compensation market opening July 1, 2008: 

 
- NCCI's national endorsements not approved with original item filing: 

Pending Rate Change Endorsement WC 00 04 04; Rate Change 
Endorsement WC 00 04 07; Premium Discount Endorsement WC 00 
04 06 A; USL&H Rate Change Endorsement WC 00 04 08. 

 
- NCCI will file a West Virginia specific cancellation / non-renewal 

form that outlines the recently amended notification laws. 
 
- NCCI’s Residual Market rules and forms.  The residual market will 

become effective January 1, 2009 in West Virginia.   
 

 
3) Do carriers have to re-file their Loss Cost Multiplier (LCM) each year? 

The OIC does not require an annual loss cost multiplier filing, the approved 
LCM remains in effect until re-filed. 
 

4) Does West Virginia have a published targeted combined ratio for LCM 
filings? 

 
The OIC does not have a published targeted combined ratio for the workers’ 
compensation line. Each filing is reviewed to determine if the information 
submitted justifies the proposed change and is fully supported by the 
accompanying documentation. Proposals are analyzed to confirm that rates 
are not excessive, inadequate or unfairly discriminatory. 
 

5) Experience Rating Clarification; Clarify Anniversary Rating Date (ARD) 
and when split mods are issued 

 
West Virginia has adopted NCCI's national Basic and Experience Rating 
Plan Manuals. Basic Manual Rule 3-A-2 explains Anniversary Rating Date 
or ARD.  ARD is the effective month and day of the policy in effect.  Rules 
and rates are applied on an ARD basis for all employers.  
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The Experience Rating Plan Rule 2-B-2 explains the term Rating Effective 
Date or RED.  RED is the earliest date a specific experience rating 
modification can be applied to the policy.  Generally, the ARD and RED for 
an employer will be the same date.   
 
For West Virginia, most employers in the state had their RED established as 
July 1, 2007 because: (1) This was the date that NCCI's Experience Rating 
Plan Manual Rules became effective in West Virginia; (2) NCCI's Loss Cost  
Filing was effective July 1, 2007; and (3) BrickStreet was issuing six month 
short term policies, effective July 1, 2007. 
 
The rules around the application of experience rating follow the national 
rules in West Virginia.  If more than two experience mods apply to a single 
policy (multiple rating effective dates) the application of both those mod 
factors would be consistent with the national rules.  
 
ARD/RED 7/1/2007 
Policy period 10/2/2007 - 10/2/2008  
Policy Period 10/02/2007   10/02/2008 

7/1/2007 
Effective 
Mod/Rates 
Apply 

10/02/2007 06/30/2008   

7/1/2008 
Effective 
Mod/Rates 
Apply 

  07/01/2008 10/02/2008 

 
Reason that this scenario occurs:   
 
Experience Modification Factor can only apply for up to 15 months (7/1/07 - 
10/1/08) 
Policy expiration date is 10/2/08 - 1 day more than 15 months after RED 
7/1/08 experience mod factor must be applied during the policy period 
 
Rates in effect on ARD can apply for full term of any policy beginning up to 
three months after the ARD 
Policy effective date is 10/2/2007, 1 day more than 3 months after 7/1/2007 
ARD 
7/1/2008 rates must be applied during the policy period 
 
Refer to NCCI's circular issued June 6, 2007 Circular CIF-2007-03 for 
explanation of impact to interstate rating. 
 

6) Will contingent mods be applicable in WV? 
 

Yes, the application of Contingent Mods is in Rule 4.C.3 of the Experience 
Rating Plan Manual and was approved for use in West Virginia. 
 



Frequently Asked Questions  
 

Revised:  06/05/2008 

7) What fraud verbiage should carriers incorporate into their forms? 
 

Claims forms and applications for insurance, regardless of the form of 
transmission, may contain the following warning or a substantially similar 
caveat: 
 
“Any person who knowingly presents a false or fraudulent claim for payment 
of a loss or benefit or knowingly presents false information in an application 
for insurance is guilty of a crime and may be subject to fines and 
confinement in prison.” 
 

8) How does WV address insurance fraud? 
 
The OIC has a dedicated fraud unit with investigators geographically located 
throughout the state. It is a requirement that all instances of suspected fraud 
be reported to the OIC. Under W. Va. Code § 33-41-5, any person engaged in 
the business of insurance that has knowledge or a reasonable belief that 
fraud or another crime related to insurance is being, will be or has been 
committed must provide the information to the Insurance Commissioner. A 
fraud reporting form can be found on the OIC website at 
www.wvinsurance.gov. 
 

 
9) Are Medical Fee Schedule adjustments anticipated? 

 
West Virginia’s medical fee schedule does not apply to managed care 
programs.  The current medical fee schedule is under review for inclusion of 
adjustments occurring in other jurisdictions and adjustments are expected to 
be made during the summer, 2008. 
 
 

10) What are the general requirements of owners and officers exempting 
themselves from workers’ compensation coverage? 

 
In West Virginia, W. Va. Code § 23-2-1(g)(2), a company may exclude its 
owners, partners, equity members, board of directors and up to four (4) 
corporate officers from workers’ compensation coverage.  Also, other 
officers may be exempt if they do not serve in a “dual capacity” for the 
company (both serving as an officer and performing administrative or other 
“day to day” duties for the company).  A company is required to specifically 
exempt any such persons by providing information to the private carrier, 
including identifying information of the individuals the company intends to 
exempt.  The process applying to owner/officer exemptions is specifically set 
forth in W. Va. Code St. R. § 85-8-6.3. 
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11) Will carriers be responsible for reporting owner/officer information to the 
WV OIC? 

 
This requirement has been amended out of W. Va. Code § 23-2C-15(c) by the 
provisions of H.B. 4636, which was passed by the West Virginia Legislature 
on March 8, 2008, and was made effective from passage.  Based upon 
information from the insurance industry and independent OIC research, this 
appeared to be an unusual requirement of insurance carriers.  In addition, it 
was very problematic to comply with when, for example, an insured 
employer is a publicly traded company.  Therefore, there is no longer a 
statutory requirement that carriers obtain information related to 
owners/officers of policyholders, and to update that information during the 
policy period as it changes.   
 

12) How can carriers obtain historical claim information? 
 

Historical claim information is available via the NCCI Riskworkstation.  
There is no charge to employers requesting this information; however, 
carriers are assessed $20 for the current experience rating worksheet and 
$10 for each historical experience rating worksheet.  If the insured is not 
experience rated, NCCI provides a Risk History Report.  This report is $10 
per transaction.  On each of these requests, the carrier must have a letter of 
authority from the employer.  The data may be retrieved via the NCCI 
Riskworkstation application or by calling NCCI at 800-622-4123. 
 
The OIC has implemented a loss run request for employer’s to utilize to 
receive historical claim information.  The link is located here.  Claims history 
subsequent to July 1, 2005 is obtainable from BrickStreet Mutual Insurance 
Company. 
 

13) How and to what classes is the underground coal mine catastrophe applied? 
 
The underground coal mine catastrophe provision is applicable only to 
classes 1005 and 1016 and its application is displayed in the approved 
algorithm contained in the West Virginia pages of the NCCI Basic Manual. 
 

14) How will carriers report Excess Liability data to NCCI? 
 

Excess Policy Reporting:  
Unit Statistical—Excess W/C policies are required to be reported for unit 
statistical reporting in West Virginia. 
 
Financial Calls--Excess W/C policies are only to be included in NCCI 
Financial Calls #1, #1A, #2 and #8.  For all other Financial Calls, excess 
policy experience is not to be reported.  The complete rule on Excess Policies 
is contained in the Reporting Guidebook for the Annual Calls for 
Experience, Part 6, Item 12 (Excess Policies). 
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15) What are the requirements to write workers’ compensation insurance for a 
professional employer organization (“PEO”)? 

 
The West Virginia Legislature passed H.B. 4079 during the 2008 regular 
session.  A copy of the enrolled bill and the legislative history may be found 
at the following website: www.legis.state.wv.us.  The bill creates a new article 
in Chapter 33 of the West Virginia Code relating to PEO’s.  The OIC is 
charged with the licensing and regulation of PEO’s.  Pursuant to the terms of 
the bill, PEO’s operating in our state at the time of passage must obtain a 
license from the Insurance Commissioner by July 1, 2009.  The OIC may 
examine or investigate the business and affairs of any PEO under market 
conduct examination provisions of Chapter 33 [W. Va. Code § 33-2-9].  The 
bill also prohibits PEO’s from offering self-funded health plans to their client 
employers.  The issues of PEO involvement with health plans, taxes, labor 
laws and unemployment taxes are to be studied by the Joint Committee on 
Government and Finance and several agencies. 
 
The responsibility to obtain workers’ compensation coverage must be 
specifically allocated in the professional employer agreement.  The insurer 
must report payroll and claims data for each client-employer to the OIC or 
statistical agent in a manner that identifies both the client-employer and 
PEO.  Insurer must also accurately report coverage status on each client-
employer under applicable POC statutes and rules. 
 
Workers’ compensation coverage may be provided through PEO’s on a 
master policy basis, but the insurer must be able to report experience 
accurately for each client-employer under the terms of the new law.  No 
workers’ compensation coverage may be provided through a PEO on a 
master policy basis in the residual market.  The new law also allows workers’ 
compensation coverage to be provided on a multiple coordinated policy basis.  
The new law clarifies that the protection of the exclusive workers’ 
compensation remedy applies to the PEO, the client-employer, and all 
covered employees irrespective of who obtains the coverage.  Emergency 
Legislative rules will be proposed during June, 2008 and amendments to title 
85, Series 31 are also expected to be proposed during the summer, 2008. 
 

16) What are West Virginia’s adjuster licensure and residency requirements? 
 

Adjusters must be licensed in our state; however they do not need to reside 
within our state to practice. Adjusters domiciled in states requiring the 
passage of an examination to obtain an adjusters license do not need to take 
the West Virginia adjuster licensing examination. 
 
By insurance rule found at 114CSR25, section 3, certain persons performing 
the activities specified therein will not be deemed to be acting as an adjuster 
so as to require licensing. This rule should be consulted regarding adjuster 
requirements. In addition, Informational Letter Number 151, issued in 
February, 2005 addresses one of the limited exceptions to the licensing 
requirement set forth in the rule.   
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This exception applies to a person located in a central office of the insurer, 
outside of West Virginia, who adjusts claims by telephone only and who does 
not enter the state in the course of adjusting claims. The informational letter 
expresses the Insurance Commissioner’s interpretation that this exception 
also applies to out of state adjusters who adjust claims via email, facsimile, 
regular or overnight mail, or similar methods of communication, so long as 
the adjuster is always located in a central office of an insurer outside of our 
state. Both rule and informational letter can be found on the Insurance 
Commissioner’s website. 
 
 

17) Do Third Party Administrators have to maintain a physical location within 
WV? 

 
TPA’s are allowed to use non-resident adjusters, however, they must have 
non-resident adjuster licenses in WV.  There is no requirement in WV law 
that a TPA have an in-state office.     

 
Under the provisions of H.B. 4636, it is clarified that self insured employers 
and private carriers may enter into a contract to have their workers’ 
compensation claims administered by a TPA.  The bill further states that 
insurers and all self insured employers may only have contracts with TPA’s 
to administer their claims if the TPA’s are licensed under the TPA Act in 
Article 46, Chapter 33 of the West Virginia Code.  Any TPA that directly or 
indirectly underwrites or collects charges or premiums or adjusts or settles 
workers’ compensation claims on residents of West Virginia on behalf of an 
insurer is subject to the provisions of W. Va. Code § 33-46-1, et seq.  The 
requirement that the TPA must maintain an office in West Virginia is 
deleted.   
 
The OIC will propose rules to regulate the use of TPA’s by private carriers 
and self-insured employers, including rules setting forth mandatory 
provisions for agreements between TPA’s and self-insured employers or 
private carriers.  These rules should be filed for public comment within the 
next few months and will be available on the OIC’s website. 
 
The model act, found at W. Va. Code § 33-46-1, et seq., allows for the 
licensing of non-resident administrators if the administrator has not obtained 
a home-state license in WV.  However, an administrator is not eligible for a 
nonresident license if it does not hold a certificate of authority or license as a 
resident in a home state that has adopted the NAIC model TPA Act or a 
substantially similar act.  In that case, the administrator would need to name 
any state as its home state which has adopted the NAIC model or a 
substantially similar law.   
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18) How does the WV statute address the discontinuation of TTD benefits in 
those cases of the injured worker refusing to return to work? 
 
The key to when TTD benefits may be discontinued is not whether the 
injuredworker does (or does not) want to return to work, but whether the 
injured worker has: (a) reached maximum degree of improvement; (b) been 
released to return to work; or (c) actually returned to work. W. Va. Code § 
23-4-7a(e)(4) directs, in part, that in all cases, a finding by a private carrier 
or self-insured employer that a claimant has reached maximum degree of 
improvement, terminates the claimant’s entitlement to TTD benefits, 
regardless of whether the claimant has been released to return to work. W. 
Va. Code § 23-4-7a(e)(4) also directs, in part, that under no circumstances 
shall a claimant be entitled to receive TTD benefits either beyond the date 
the claimant is released to return to work or beyond the date that he or 
she actually returns to work. 
 

19) What is mandolidis and how is it administered? 
 

This term refers to the concept of a “deliberate intent” cause of action.  If a 
claimant can prove the elements of the claim, the employer loses tort 
immunity and will be held liable for damages.  
 
•  In 1983, the Legislature amended the code to set out alternative ways for 
an employee to prove the deliberate intention necessary to strip his or her 
employer of immunity.  First, the employee could prove that the employer 
acted with a “consciously, subjectively and deliberately formed intention to 
produce the specific result of injury or death to an employee” [§23-4-
2(d)(2)(i)] or the employee could prove specified facts about an unsafe 
working condition to establish the employer’s deliberate intent to injure 
[§23-4-2(d)(2)(ii)].  There was a five part test required.    
 
•  The 1983 amendments made it more difficult for an employer to loose the 
immunity provided by the Workers’ Compensation Act.   
 
•  In 2005, the WV Legislature re-visited the deliberate intent statute and 
made additional amendments.  The plaintiff now has an increased burden in 
establishing a cause of action under the five part test.  
 
•  The Statute now requires actual knowledge of the specific unsafe working 
condition and strong probability of serious injury or death presented by the 
condition as opposed to a “subjective realization and appreciation” required 
by the statute as previously written.    
 
•  Further, in order to prevail under the five part test the unsafe working 
condition must violate a “commonly accepted and well-known safety 
standard within the industry or business of the employer.”  The plaintiff 
must now have competent evidence of written standards or guidelines which 
reflect a consensus safety standard in industry or business.  It is important to 
note that the standards must now be written.   
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•  The statute also makes clear that the plaintiff does not have to have filed an 
underlying workers’ compensation claim to file a deliberate intention suit.   
 
•  The statute also makes clear that the plaintiff’s injuries or death must have 
been compensable under the workers’ compensation statute, even if no 
workers’ compensation claim has been filed. 
 

20) Is “deliberate intent” coverage part of the required coverage under Chapter 
23 of the WV Code for new carriers entering the WV market on July 1, 
2008? 

 
No.   
 
The “Employers’ Excess Liability Fund” was established under Article 4C of 
Chapter 23 as a vehicle to provide coverage for employers subject to Chapter 
23 who may be subjected to liability for excess damages because the injury of 
an employee results from the deliberate intention of the employer to produce 
the injury or death.  This fund and its obligations were transferred to 
BrickStreet on January 1, 2006. 
 
BrickStreet Insurance is required by the provisions of W. Va. §23-4C-6 to 
offer insurance to provide for the benefits required by Article 4C until at 
least June 30, 2008.  After that time, BrickStreet may choose to not offer this 
coverage.  Currently, BrickStreet provides this coverage by special 
endorsement.     
 
New private carriers entering the market after July 1, 2008 are not required 
to offer this type of coverage as part of their workers’ compensation policies.   
 
For further information, please refer to the “Memo on Deliberate Intent” in 
the Headlines section of the Insurance Commissioner’s webpage. 
 

 
21) The current time standards in West Virginia law for NCCI proof of coverage 

(“POC”) reporting provides the carrier ten (10) days to report issuance of 
coverage and three (3) days to report cancellation.  These time frames are 
short compared to other states, and it will be difficult for carriers to meet 
these requirements.  Does the OIC plan on reviewing these time frames and 
possibly changing them? 

 
The time frames relating to Proof of Coverage (“POC”) reporting have been 
amended by H.B. 4636 following comments received from the insurance 
industry and independent research conducted by the OIC.  The POC 
reporting provisions can be found at W. Va. Code § 23-2C-15.  
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Reporting of new coverage has changed from within 10 days to within 30 
days after the effective date of the new or renewal coverage, or the private 
carrier’s receipt of notice of the employer’s operations in this state, 
whichever is later.  Notice of termination of coverage by the carrier has 
changed from 3 days after termination of coverage to at least 10 days prior to 
effective date of termination of coverage.  Because a carrier’s report of new 
or renewal coverage must include the expiration date for that policy, no 
separate proof of coverage reporting is required in situations in which a 
carrier declines to renew or a policy simply expires because the insured elects 
not to accept the carrier’s offer to renew.  The Insurance Commissioner’s 
internal system will note the expiration date at the time of issuance or 
renewal when initially reported and the OIC will then be able to ensure that 
a timely new issuance or renewal of the coverage is received. 
 
Notice of termination of coverage at the request of the employer has been 
added to the law as a POC reporting requirement.  When the employer asks 
that the policy be terminated, the carrier must give notice within 10 days of 
the carrier’s receipt of the employer’s request.  
 
H.B. 4636 further stated that a transfer of a policyholder between insurance 
companies within the same group is not considered a cancellation or refusal 
to renew a workers’ compensation insurance policy.  

 
22) Will market conduct and financial exams be conducted internally or by an 

outside vendor? 
 

The OIC has in-house exam staff that can be supplemented with contract 
examiners when necessary.  Carriers are subject to an annual exam fee, 
currently $1,050, to provide for WV’s exam services.  West Virginia works 
collaboratively with the carrier’s state of domicile when addressing 
examination needs. 
 

23) What is the Old Fund Liability and how is it being handled? 
 

The Old Fund Liability is the debt incurred while the workers’ compensation 
commission operated as a state agency.  This deficit is being addressed by an 
employer surcharge and a variety of other statutorily mandated revenue 
sources, including: severance taxes, personal income taxes and lottery funds.  
An annual audit is performed on the Old Fund deficit and available via the 
OIC website at www.wvinsurance.gov. 
 
Deficit reduction surcharges are collected by the carriers, remitted to the 
OIC and are a direct pass through. Current actuarial reports indicate that 
the dedicated revenue streams are sufficient to retire the unfunded liability 
by 2016.  Additionally, the state maintains bonding authority to supplement 
the revenues if a short-fall should occur. Based on improved results and 
financial gains the state does not believe the issuance of bonds will be 
necessary.  
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An updated actuarial opinion will be released shortly which we believe will 
confirm that the financial position of the “Old Fund” has shown further 
improvements. 
 

24) Surcharge Administration – How will this be applied? 

W. Va. Code § 23-2C-3(f) provides for the private market debt reduction and 
regulatory surcharges to be assessed on only those premiums received for 
coverage under Chapter 23 ( i.e. workers’ compensation coverage).  Premium 
providing workers' compensation coverage, meaning that benefits will be paid to 
an employee who receives an injury in the course of and as a result of his (or 
her) employment, are subject to the Chapter 23 debt reduction and regulatory 
surcharges.  If the coverage is secondary coverage (such as coverage for 
increased limits of employers' liability), then the premium is subject to the 
premium taxes and surcharge under Chapter 33. 

If an employee is injured on a job in which the Federal government provides the 
workers' compensation coverage, then the injury is not subject to West Virginia 
workers' compensation coverage under Chapter 23 of the West Virginia Code, 
and there would be no Chapter 23 debt reduction and regulatory surcharges.  

Surcharges are a statutory requirement for the benefit of the legacy debt and 
OIC administration.  Once that legacy debt is fully funded, that surcharge may 
sunset.  The surcharges are considered a “pass through” where the carrier 
collects the monies and submits directly to the Insurance Commissioner. 


