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TITLE 85
EXEMPT LEGISLATIVE RULE
WORKERS’ COMPENSATION RULES OF THE
WEST VIRGINIA INSURANCE COMMISSIONER

SERIES 11
EMPLOYER DEFAULT, ENFORCEMENT, COLLECTIONS
AND RELATED MATTERS

§85-11-1. General.

1.1. Scope. -- This rule implements the provisions of W. Va. Code §§23-1-13; 23-2-1,
1b, 14, 5, 5a, 5b, 5¢, 54, 8, 9, 13, 14, 15 and 17; 23-2C-19; and 33-2-22, regarding the
determination of workers® compensation employer default; enforcement of compliance by
employers with West Virginia’s workers’ compensation laws; and collection of obligations
arising from those requirements and others.

1.2. Authority. -- W. Va. Code §§23-2C-19(g) and 22; 33-2-10(b); and 33-2-21(a).
Pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-5(c)(2), workers’ compensation rules proposed by the
Commissioner and approved by the Industrial Council are not subject to legislative approval as
would otherwise be required under W. Va. Code §29A-3-1, et seq. Public notice requirements of
that chapter and article, however, must be followed.

1.3. Filing Date. - October 222008,
1.4. Effective Date. -- November 21,2008,
§85-11-2. Definitions.

2.1. Asused in this rule, the following terms, words, and phrases have the meanings
stated unless in any instance where such term, word, or phrase is employed the context expressly
indicates that another meaning is intended.

2.2. “Monthly base premium” means the product of the employer’s estimated monthly
pavroll for each job classification and the current corresponding West Virginia National Council
on Compensation Insurance, Inc. (NCCI) loss cost for each classification, without modification
by any other factors such as, but not limited to, tiering, experience modification or scheduled

rating.

For example, an emplover’s monthly payroll is $10,000, with $5,000 of the payroll
representing job classification “A” under the current NCCI loss costs, at a rate of $10 per $100 of
payroll, and $5.000 of the pavyroll representing job classification “B” under the current NCCI loss
costs, at a rate of $5 per $100 of payroll. The monthly base premium would be $750 (810 X $50,
or $500, for classification “A”; and $5 X $50, or $250 for classification “B”). In tumn, the
monthly base premium would be $750 (8500 for classification “A” plus $250 for classification

CLB?’].




2.23. “Default” or “default employer” means an employer that:
2.3.a. Has an outstanding balance or liability to the Old Fund;

2.3.b. Has an outstanding balance or liability to the Uninsured Employers” Fund,
including owing money to the fund for benefit payments, administration costs or attormey fees as
well as any fines owed to the fund for being uninsured pursnant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-8(d)(3)
and this rule;

d2.3.c. Fails to carry mandatory West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage;

e2.3.d. Is a former self-insured employer whose status has been revoked but who
has remaining unsecured obligations pursuant to its previous status as a self-insured employer; or

_ £.3.e. Has any other outstanding obligation, balance, debt or other liability
pursuant to chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or rules promulgated thereunder.

2.34. “Employee™ has the meaning ascribed to that term by W. Va. Code §§23-2-1 and
23-2-1a. :

2.45. “Employer” means either or both of the following:

, 2.5.a. The term “employer” has the meaning ascribed to that term by West-
Virginia W. Va. Code §23-2-1, which includes, but is not limited to, any individual, sole
proprietor, firm, partnership, limited partnership, limited liability company, joint venture,
association, corporation, company, organization, receiver, estate, trust, guardian, executor,
administrator, government entity or any other entity regularly employing another person or
persons for the purpose of carrying on any form of industry, service or business in this state, and
as such is required to carry West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage.

2.5.b. The term “employer” also means, for the purposes of this rule’s
enforcement provisions at subsection 6.1. and sections 7., 8. and 10;and-H= any owners,
officers, members, partners and directors of the employer.

2.6. “Estimated monthlv payroll” means:

2.6.a. Ifavailable, the estimated annual payroll for the current policy vear as
provided by NCCI to the Commissioner, divided by twelve;

2.6.b. Ifthe amount described in subdivision a. of this subsection is not available,
then the emplover’s estimated monthly payroll based on other available information, including,
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but not limited to, information available on wages reported through West Virginia’s
unemplovment system. '

2.57. “Commissioner” means the Insurance Commissioner of West Virginia.

2.68. “Payment” means any amount of money owed by an employer pursuant to chapter
twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or any rules promulgated there under.

2.29. “QOld Fund” means the fund created pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-2(1).

2.910. “Self-insured” or “Self-insured employer” means an employer which is eligible
and has been granted self-insured status under the provisions of W. Va. Code §23-2-9.

2.10811. “Uninsured Employers’ Fund” means the fund created pursuant to W. Va. Code
§§23-2C-2(0) and 23-2C-8.

21112, “West Virginia Code,” “W. Va. Code” and “Code” mean the West Virginia
Code of 1931, as amended.

24213, “Workers’ Compensation Default List” or “Default List,” means a paper and/or
electronic database maintained by the Commissioner which identifies employers who are in
default. This list may be made accessible in the form of either a computerized database or other
databases.

2.14. “West Virginia workers®’ compensation coverage” means insurance coverage an
emplover is required to maintain under chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code.

§85-11-3. Default Employer not Permitted to Dissolve or Withdraw.

3.1. The Commissioner shall not certify to the seerctary-ofstate Secretary of State of
West Virginia that all payments and interest due the Commissioner under chapter twenty-three of
the West Virginia Code or the rules promulgated thereunder by an employer have been made
until the employer cures any defanlt or makes arrangements satisfactory to the Commissioner for
that cure or until all payments due by the employer under chapter twenty-three of the West
Virginia Code or the rules promulgated thereunder have been made or arranged for by agreement
with the Commissioner.

3.2. Pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2-5a, the seeretary-ofstate Secretary of State shall
withhold the issuance of any certificate of dissolution or withdrawal in the case of any
corporation organized under the laws of West Virginia or organized under the laws of any other
state and admitted to do business in this state until the seeretary-ofstate Secretary of State
receives the subsection 3.1. certification.
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§85-11-4. Notice to Employees of Default Employers.

4.1. Upon thepolicy default-or discovery that an employer is otherwise not carrying-
mandatory maintaining West Virginia workers® compensation insurance, the Commissioner shall
issue a written notice to the employees of that employer. The notice shall be in the form
prescribed by the Commissioner.

4.2. Contents of notice. - The notice shall inform the employees of the default of their
employer and the effective date thereof. The notice shall also inform the employees of the legal
consequences, as it affects the employees, of the default or termination of their employer. The
notice shall also contain the following statement which shall be printed in conspicuous type:
“Any person who shall, prior to the reinstatement to good standing of the said employer, as
hereinbefore provided for, or prior to sixty (60) days after the posting of this notice, whichever
shall first occur, remove, deface, or render illegible this notice, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor,
and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).”

4.3. Posting the notice. -- The Commissioner shall arrange for the posting of the notice
as described in this section in a conspicuous place at the chief works of the employer, as the
same appears in the records of the Commissioner, or such other location(s) as may be deemed to
provide adequate notice to emplovees of the employer. If the chief works of the employer
cannot be found or identified, then the notice as described in this section shall be posted at the
front door of the courthouse of the county in which the chief works are located, according to the
Cominissioner’s records. A copy of the notice shall also be sent to the office of the secretary of
state for publication in the State Register.

4.4, The Commissioner may require any sheriff, deputy sheriff, or other official of the
state of West Virginia, who may be authorized to serve civil process, to post the notice as
described in this section and to make return thereof of the fact of such posting to the
Commissioner, and any failure to post any notice within ten (10) days after he or she receives the
same from the Commissioner, without just cause or excuse, shall constitute a willful failure or
refusal to perform a duty required of him or her by law within the meaning of W. Va. Code §61-

4.5. Fee for posting. - Any official posting the notice as described in this section shall
be entitled to the same fee as is now or may hereafter be provided for the service of process in
suits instituted in courts of record in the state of West Virginia, which fee shall be paid by the
Commissioner out of any funds at his or her disposal, but shall be charged by him or her agamst
the account of the employer to whose default such notice relates.

§85-11-5. Audits of Employers.
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5.1. Pursuant to W. Va. Code §§ 23-1-1b(2)(20). 23-2-2-a), and 33-2-22(a}, the
Commissioner has authority to perform audits of any employer in order to determine the amount
of money owed to the Old Fund. The audits shall be in a manner as prescribed by the
Commissioner, and employers shall be required to comply with all requirements of such audits.
Any employer refusing to comply with a Commissioner andit as described in this subsection
shall be deemed in default based on the estimated liability to the Old Fund as calculated by the
Commissioner based on available and credible information, and shall further be subject to all
enforcement provisions as contained in chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code and the
rules promulgated thereunder.

53.2. Fhe Pursuant to W. Va. Code §§23-1-8. 23-2-2 and 33-2-22(a), the Commissioner is
entitled to hold administrative hearings, conduct depositions, and issue subpoenas for production
of persons for deposition or documents for inspection in order to obtain relevant information for
determination of amount owed to the Old Fund. All administrative hearings or depositions shall
be convened and conducted in accordance with section 1312. of this rule.

§85-11-6. Methods of Collection of Payments and Enforcement.

6.1. Following the default of an employer, in addition to the remedies described in
previous sections of this rule, the Commissioner shall have available to him or her the following
remedies which shall each be described more fully below:

6.1.a. Initiation of a civil action against the employer.

6.1.b. Filing of a lien or liens enforceable against all the property of the
employer.

6.1.c. Initiation of an action in the Circuit Court of Kanawha County to enjoin the
employer from c¢ontinuing to carry on the business in which its liability was incurred or, in the
alternative, to accept a bond from the employer.

6.1.d. Filing a claim in any bankruptcy proceeding or in a receivership or
insolvency proceeding which involves the employer.

6.1.e. Informing the directorofthecommission Secretary of environmental
protection when an employer is in default prior to the director’s issuance of a coal mining permit
so that the permit may not be issued until the applicant is in compliance with chapter twenty-
three of the West Virginia Code or the Rules promulgated thereunder, as provided in W. Va.
Code §22-3-8.

6.1.f Informinge Pursuant to W. Va, Code §§23-1-1b(g)(16), 23-2C-15(d), and
23-2C-19(e) and W. Va. Code of St. R. §85-32-1 et seq., informing the director, commissioner or
head of any state agency when an employer is in default, so that the director may take
appropriate remedial action against the employer in regard to a contract, license, permit,
certificate or other authority to conduct a trade, profession or business.
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6.1.g. Requesting a criminal prosecution of any person, firm, corporation or other
employer whose non-compliance with chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or the
rules promulgated thereunder is believed to be in violation of W. Va. Code §23-1-16 and section
1615. of this rule.

6.2. In addition to the other remedies set forth hercin, the Commissioner may also initiate
a proceeding or proceedings in the name of the state to distrain upon any personal property,
including intangible property, of any default emplover. If the Commissioner has good reason to
believe that such property or a substantial portion thereof is about to be removed from the county
in which it is situated, the Commissioner may initiate a dlstralnt proceeding i in the name of the

6.3. In every case noted in this section where a monetary sum is to be collected, the
Commissioner shall include a demand for interest as specified in section 1413. of this rule.

6.4. The remedies set forth in subsections 6.1. and 6.2. of this section are described in
greater detail in later sections of this rule. '

§85-11-7. Statutory Lien.

7.1. -Asay Pursuant to W. Va. Code §8§23-2-5a(b) and 23-2C-19(f), any payment and
interest thereon due and unpaid under chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code and the
rules promulgated thereunder, including, but not limited to, money owed to the Old Fund, money
owed to the Uninsured Employers’ Fund and money owed pursuant to liabilities accrued by the
employer while the employer was self-insured constitutes a lien enforceable against all of the
property of the owing employer. The property subject to the lien includes all of the employer’s
real estate, personal property of all types, money and combinations thereof.

7.2. In accordance with W. Va. Code §§23-2-5a and 38-10C-2, the Commissioner shall
file a written notice of the lien as described in this section in the office of the clerk of the county
commission of the county in which the property of the employer or lienee against whom such
lien is claimed, is situate, or if the employer’s or lienee’s property is situated in more than one
county, then in each such clerk’s office in each such county. The notice shall certify the amount
of money that is owed by the employer.

7.3. Pursuant to W. Va. Code §38-10C-2, the clerk or clerks of the county commission or
commissions shall, upon the filing of the notice, index the notice in the judgment or tax lien
docket of his or her office against the employer or lienee in favor of the state of West Virginia
and the Commissioner. Upon the satisfaction of such lien, a properly acknowledged release
thereof for recordation shall be delivered or mailed to the employer or lienee by the
Commissioner or shall be delivered or mailed to the clerk of the county commission in the
county in which the lien was filed. Such notice or notices of the lien shall be supplemented by
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additional notices from time to time whenever any additional liability is incurred by the
employer or is determined by audit or other proceeding.

7.4. Until the lien is docketed as provided for in subsection 7.3. of this section, the lien is
unenforceable against purchasers (including a lien creditor) of real estate or personal property for
a valuable consideration except for such purchasers with actual notice of the Commissioner’s
lien. However, if a purchaser (including a lien creditor) of real estate or personal property for a
valuable consideration has actual knowledge of the lien, then that lien shall be enforceable
against such a purchaser even before the lien is docketed as provided for in subsection 7.3. of
this section. Following the docketing pursuant to subsection 7.3. of this section, the lien is
enforceable against any purchaser (including a lien creditor) with or without actual notice of the
lien.

7.5. Once all amounts due from the employer are collected by the Commissioner, the
Commissioner shall release the lien or liens as provided by law.

§85-11-8. Civil Actions.

8.1. The Commissioner in the name of the State may commence a civil action against a
default employer to recover any payment and interest thereon due and unpaid under chapter
twenty-three of the West Virginia Code and the rules promulgated thereunder, including, but not
limited to, money owed to the Old Fund, money owed to the Uninsured Employers’ Fund and
money owed pursuant to liabilities accrued by the employer while the employer was self-insured.

8.42. Pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2-5a, if the judgment entered in a civil action as
described in this section is against the defendant employer, the defendant shall pay the costs of
the action. In addition, a civil action as described in this section shall be given preference on the
calendar of the court over all other civil actions.
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§85-11-9. Injunctions From Carrying On Business.

9.1. Pursuant to the provisions of W. Va. Code §33-2-22(b), the Commissioner may
bring an action against a default employer in the Circuit Court of Kanawha County to enjoin
such default employer from continuing to carry on business.

9.2. Pursuant to the provisions of W. Va. Code §33-2-22(c), the Circuit Court of
Kanawha County shall issue an injunction prohibiting the default employer from operating its
business if the Commissioner proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the employer 18 in
defanlt status.

9.3. The Commissioner may, in the Commissioner’s sole discretion, as an alternative to
pursuing such an injunction as described in this section, require a default employer to file a bond
in the form prescribed by the Commissioner with satisfactory surety in an amount not less than
{ifty percent more than the payments and interest due. The bond must be issued by a corporate
surety satisfactory to the Commissioner.

§85-11-10. Receivership and Insolvency Proceedings; Bankruptcy.

10.1. In the event that a default employer owing payment and interest due thereon under
chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or the rules promul gated thereunder, including,
but not limited fo, money owed to the Old Fund, money owed to the Uninsured Employers” Fund
and money owed pursuant to liabilities accrued by the employer while the employer was self-
insured, shall be operated in connection with a receivership or insolvency proceeding in any state
court in this state, the court under whose direction such business is operated shall, by the entry of
a proper order or decree in the cause, make provisions, so far as the assets in administration will
permit, for the regular payment of such payments as the same become due.

10.2. In any such case as is described in subsection 10.1. of this section, the
Commissioner may file such pleadings, motions, and other documents and take any other legal
action necessary to protect the interests of West Virginia’s workers’ compensation market during
the pendency and resolution of such case. '

10.3. In the event that a default employer owing payment and interest under the
provisions of chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code and the rules promulgated
thereunder, including, but not limited to, money owed to the Old Fund, money owed to the
Uninsured Emplovers” Fund and money owed pursuant to liabilities accrued by the employer
while the employer was self-insured, files for or is placed in a bankruptcy proceeding under the
laws of the United States, the Commissioner may become a party to such proceedings and take
any and all actions needed to protect the interests of West Virginia®s workers’ compensation
market during the pendency and resolution of the proceeding. The Commissioner may institute
an involuntary proceeding against an employer in a bankruptcy court of the United States in any
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proper instance. All former premium tax assessments owed to the Old Fund and all surcharges
and assessments owed by employers pursuant to chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code
or the rules promulgated thereunder, including, but not limited to, the regulatory and Debt
Reduction Fund surcharges and assessments pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-3(1), assessments
and liabilities owed to the Uninsured Employers’ Fund pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-8 and
assessments for the Self-Insured Guaranty and Secarity Risk Pools as established in W. Va. Code
§23-2C-1, et seq. and W. Va. Code St. R. §85-19-1, et seq., are special revenue taxes under and
according to the provisions of state workers’” compensation laws and are deemed to be tax
claims, as priority claims or administrative expense claims according to those provisions of law
provided in the United States bankruptcy code.

Page ©



Page 10



o

b

Ll

Page 11



Page 12



Page 13



Page 14



Page 15



§85-11-1211. Payment Agreements
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may, at the dlscretlon of the Commlsswner make apphcatmn ona form prowded by the
Commissioner, to enter into a payment agreement with the Commissioner which provides for

payment of the entire-default Hability payment debt owed to the Commissioner in installments.

1211.2. As a prerequisite to entering into a payment agreement, a defauit employer as
described in subsection 1211.1. of this section must may be required to make a good faith
payment of ten percent (10%) of the total current outstanding liability owed or in such other
amount as the Commissioner determines will ensure that the employer maintains West Virginia
workers compensatlon coverage and pay off its outstandmg debt under the agreement The-

1211.3. A default employer as described in subsection 3211.1. of this section who enters
into a payment agreement and also provides the Commissioner with a current certificate of
workers’ compensation insurance shall be removed from the Default List.

The Commissioner may then delay or contmue ﬁlrther pu.rsmt of that remedlal action if, in the

Commissioner’s sole dlscretlon the&meres{&eﬁﬁie—S%&t&H%efkefs—eempeﬂsaﬁefbmafk%ﬂl—

e b ance delaying or continuing such action
wﬂl Iead to the emnloyer mamteumng West V1r9m1a workers’ compensation coverage and

paying off its debt owed under the agreement %&ﬁ&%ﬂ}&%@h&@@ﬁﬂﬂﬂmﬁ%ﬁaﬁ%&&aﬁeﬁ—

12.611.5. Permitting an employer to enter into a payment agreement is discretionary with
the Commissioner. Such dxscreuon shall be exerc:lsed Wlth regard to the best 1nterests of the-




12.711.6. The Commissioner may permit the payment of all amounts due to the Old
Fund, Uninsured Employers’ Fund, or owed pursuant to liabilities accrued by the employer while
the employer was self-insured, or any combination thereof, upon the terms stated in a payment
agreement. The Commissioner shall exercise-discretion-to-enter into-such-an-agreement and
shall prescribe additionally have sole discretion in prescribing the terms and length of an

agreement under this section, taking into consideration the best intercsts of the Old Fund,
Uninsured Emplovyers’ Fund and/or the self-insured community. as applicable.

12.811.7. Pursuant to W. Va. Code §33-2-22{d){(e), the Commissioner shall have
authonty—as—pafke{l&paymenf&agfeemeﬁt— to waive or reduce penalty-or-interest-due-to-the Old-

redﬁee any amount owed to the OId Fund and/or Umnsured Employers Fund as—paft—e#a—
paymentagreement. In all cases when the Commissioner agrees to waive or reduce amounts
owed to the Old Fund and/or Uninsured Employers’ Fund as described in this subsection, such
decision shall be made consistent with the best interests of the Old Fund and/or Uninsured

Employers Fund asa‘.-h%e&se—may—be Qphcabl Lﬂ%emp}ey%d@?&ﬂlﬂ%ﬂ—ﬁk%—paﬁﬂeﬁt—

= 8 ! faaw

ew&theeﬁg}&al—ameﬂﬂ% AnV amount Walved or reduced under this Sectlon shaﬂ be noted in any
pavment agreement entered into pursuant to this section.

11.8. Any employer that misses a payment will be provided notice by the Commissioner
of a right to cure the missed payment within 20 days of the employer’s receipt of such notice. If
after the expiration of the right to cure period no payment is received, the payment agreement
becomes null and void and the emplover shall be placed on the Default List and be deemed to
owe the orieinal amount, minus any credits for amounts actually paid under the agreement prior
to default on the asreement. If it is found to be consistent with the best interests of the Old Fund,
Uninsured Emplovers’ Fund and/or the self-insured community, as applicable, the Commissioner
mayv, within his or her sole discretion, provide the employer more than twenty (20) days to cure
the missed payment. Such additional notice may be provided either in the original notice of a
right to cure or by way of an informal verbal agreement. to permit the emplover some additional
time to cure the missed payment.

12:911.9. The interest rate agreed to in a payment agreement shall not change over the
term of the agreement.




this section shall apply te limit the Commissioner from pursning any other type of collection or

enforcement method under chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or the rules
promulgated thereunder.

§85-11-1312. Administrative Hearings.

All administrative hearings conducted pursuant to this rule will be held in accordance
with the provisions of W. Va. Code §29A-5-1, et seq., and with the provisions of Sections 4.
through 10. of 85 C.S.R. 7, “Rules for Selected Hearings.”

§85-11-1413. Interest.

1413.1. Any Pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2-13, and all payments unpaid on the date on
which due and payable, as prescribed by the Commissioner, shall immediately begin bearing
interest. Interest shall be compounded quarterly until payment plus accrued interest is received
by the Commissioner; except that future interest for payment agreements shall be calculated and
provided at a simple rate of interest. Interest collected pursuant to this subsection shall be paid
into the Old Fund, Uninsured Employers’ Fund or Self-Insared Guaranty Risk Pool or Security
Risk Pool (as established in W. Va. Code St. R. §85-19-1, et seq.), whichever is applicable.

1413.2. Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 1413.1. of this section, in no event
shall the rate of interest charged a political subdivision of the State or a volunteer fire department
exceed ten percent per annum.

§85-11-1514. Reserved.
§85-11-1615. Criminal Penalties.

In addition to all other remedies available to the Commissioner, in accordance with W,
Va. Code §61-3-24¢, the Commissioner may elect to request prosecution of any person, firm,

partnership, association, corporation or other entity who violates certain provisions of chapter
twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or the rules promulgated thereunder. Netice-should-alse-
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§85-11-1716. Freedom of Information Act.

Pursuant to the Freedom of Informatlon Act W. Va. Code §29B 1-1, et seq. and W. Va.
Code §23-1-4(b), aspa an—hear £ his-rule; all of the evidence
and records submitted durmg a hearmg or Droceedmg under this rule, or as part of a stipulation,
except insofar as those records contain confidential medical information or other information
confidential to a workers’ compensation claimant, employer, or other person or entity, shall be
subject to public inspection and copying; except that, if under the rules of evidence certain
testimony or documentary evidence may be deemed privileged or confidential and placed under
seal, then upon such a ruling by the hearing officer, such testimony or documentary evidence
shall not be disclosed. If the privileged or confidential information cannot be excised from a
record, then the record as a whole will be deemed confidential and sealed; however, the
Commissioner shall release in its place a statement explaining in detail the basis for the
withholding of the record.

§85-11-1817. Placement on Workers’ Compensation Default List; Due Process and
Hearing.

1817.1. When the Commissioner is made aware that an employer is in default, the
Commissioner shall send the alleged default employer a notice informing the employer of the
circumstances causing the employer to be in default and waraing that the employer that-they will
be placed on the defaultlist Default List within fifteen (15) days of the date on the letter. The
notice shall also inform the employer that the employer may request an expedited administrative
hearing before the Commissioner if the employer believes that the impending action by the
Commissioner is factually or legally erroneous.

1817.2. A request for an expedited administrative hearing, as described in subsection
1817.1. of this section, shall clearly identify why the employer believes the Commissioner’s
mmpending action of placing it on the Defanlt List is legally or factually erroneous. Upon
receiving the request, the Commissioner shall, within five{5} ten (10) business days, schedule
hold a hearing which shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of article five [§29A-
5-1, et seq.], chapter twenty-nine-a of this code and W. Va. Code St. R. §85-7-4 through 10. A
continuance shall onlv be granted upon the showing of good cause. An appeal from a final
decision of the Commissioner shall be taken in accordance with the provisions of articles five
and six [§29A-6-1, et seq.] of said chapter: Provided, That all appeals shall be taken to the
Circuit Court of Kanawha County.

1817.3. If an employer files a request for an expedited hearing pursuant to subsections
+817.1. and $817.2. of this section, the fifteen (15) day time frame for placing the employer on
the defalt-list Defaunlt List shall be pestponed stayed until the Commissioner’s final order upon
the expedited hearing is issued, the request is withdrawn or the matter is otherwise resolved.
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1817.4. If the final decision of the Commissioner following the hearing is-thatthe-

employershould beplaced upholds the original decision to place the employer on the Default
List, the employer shall immediately be placed on the Default List.

1817.5. The administrative appeal process described in this section does not interfere
with or toll a peivate workers’ compensation carrier’s right to terminate the employer’s West
Virginia workers’ compensation coverage. The private workers’ compensation carrier’s right to
terminate an employer’s West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage is based upon the
provisions of the insurance policy and the applicable law in ehapter chapters twenty-three and
thirty-three of the West Virginia Code and the rules promulgated thereunder.

§85-11-1918. Removal From the Default List.

1918.1. ¥ The Commissioner shall remove the employer from the Default List if an
employer has met all of its legal, fiscal or other obligations pursuant to chapter twenty-three of
the West Virginia Code and the rules promulgated thereunder, including, but not limited to,

prowdmg proof of current fﬁeﬁdateﬁr West V1rg1n1a workers compensatlon coverage—éhereb:f

ﬁ&e}}e{-’ault—b}s% and paving all a:mounts owed under chaoter twentv—three of the West V1rgm1a
code.

1918.2. An employer on the Default List shall be permitted at any time to make a written
request to the Commissioner for removal from the Default List: Provided, That sach request is
accompanied by evidence not previously submitted to the Commissioner which indicates that the
employer making the request has met its legal, fiscal-er-other obligations described in subsection

18.1. of thls section and therefore is enhtled to be removed from the Default List. the—

1918.3. Employers may file a petition with the Commissioner requestmg an

admm1strat1ve hearlng before the Commissioner if they é—}sagee%‘eh—ﬂaedee]sfeﬂ-eﬁhe

deseﬁbe@ﬁ%he—abe%seeﬁeﬁ—w—e—ﬁthis—mle beheve thev should be removed frorn the Default

List: Provided, That the Commissioner reserves the right to summarily deny an employer’s
petition for a hearing if the Commissioner determines that the employer presented no new
evidence to the Commissioner in support of its written request for removal, 1s presenting
evidence of no probative value or is otherwise making a frivolous request.

§85-11-2019. Uninsured Fines.

2019.1. Any employer that is-in peliey-default fails to maintain West Virginia workers’
compensation coverage for any period, regardless of whether the emplover has such coverage at
the time the uninsured period is discovered, shall, subject io the limitations of subsection 19.2. of
this subsection, be fined by the Commissioner an amount equal fo twice the amount of monthly
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base premium

employercntered-policy-defanlt as calculated at the begummg of the umnsured penod for each
momh the emplover is or was wﬁhout coverage. ﬁae—ﬁﬁesﬂa}l—b%ﬁere&seé—eﬂ—a—meﬁﬂﬁl{f-b&s%&

20.319.2. Pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-8(d)(3), no fine imposed in this section for
any a single instance-of default continuous period of failine to maintain West Virginia workers’

compensation coverage shall exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000). Hewever-ifan-employeris-
removedfrom-default statusand re-enters-default a-new finc as-deseribed-in-this seetion-may-be-

imposcd:
§85-11-2120. Employer Violator System.

2120.1. Every employer subject to placement on the Default List shall also be placed in
the Employer Violator System {W. Va. Code §23-1-1b(g)(25)}, and shall remain in the
Employer Violator System until such time as the employer is removed from the Default List.

2120.2." All individuals who own, are officers, members or partners of, control, have a
10% ownership interest in, or are otherwise deemed to have a substantive or active ownership
interest in an employer company which is on the Default List shall be placed in the Employer
Violator System, and shall remain in the Employer Violator System until such time as the
employer is removed from the Default List.
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