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§85-11-1.  General. 
 
 1.1.  Scope.  --  This rule implements the provisions of W. Va. Code §§23-1-13; 23-2-1, 
1b, 1d, 5, 5a, 5b, 5c, 5d, 8, 9, 13, 14, 15 and 17; 23-2C-19; and 33-2-22, regarding the 
determination of workers’ compensation employer default; enforcement of compliance by 
employers with West Virginia’s workers’ compensation laws; and collection of obligations 
arising from those requirements and others. 
 
 1.2.  Authority.  --  W. Va. Code §§23-2C-19(g) and 22; 33-2-10(b); and 33-2-21(a).  
Pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-5(c)(2), workers’ compensation rules proposed by the 
Commissioner and approved by the Industrial Council are not subject to legislative approval as 
would otherwise be required under W. Va. Code §29A-3-1, et seq.  Public notice requirements of 
that chapter and article, however, must be followed. 
 
 1.3.  Filing Date.  --  April 10, 2012. 
 
 1.4.  Effective Date.  --  May 10, 2012. 
 

§85-11-2.  Definitions. 
 
 2.1.  As used in this rule, the following terms, words, and phrases have the meanings 
stated unless in any instance where such term, word, or phrase is employed the context expressly 
indicates that another meaning is intended. 
 
 2.2.  “Monthly base premium” means the product of the employer’s estimated monthly 
payroll for each job classification and the current corresponding West Virginia National Council 
on Compensation Insurance, Inc. (NCCI) loss cost for each classification, without modification 
by any other factors such as, but not limited to, tiering, experience modification or scheduled 
rating.  
 

For example, an employer’s monthly payroll is $10,000, with $5,000 of the payroll 
representing job classification “A” under the current NCCI loss costs, at a rate of $10 per $100 of 
payroll, and $5,000 of the payroll representing job classification “B” under the current NCCI loss 
costs, at a rate of $5 per $100 of payroll.  The monthly base premium would be $750 ($10 X $50, 
or $500, for classification “A”; and $5 X $50, or $250 for classification “B”).  In turn, the 
monthly base premium would be $750 ($500 for classification “A” plus $250 for classification 
“B”). 



 

 

 
 2.3.  “Default” or “default employer” means an employer that: 
 
  2.3.a.  Has an outstanding balance or liability to the Old Fund; 
 
  2.3.b.  Has an outstanding balance or liability to the Uninsured Employers’ Fund, 
including owing money to the fund for benefit payments, administration costs or attorney fees as 
well as any fines owed to the fund for being uninsured pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-8(d)(3) 
and this rule; 
 
  2.3.c.  Fails to carry West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage; 
 
  2.3.d.  Is a former self-insured employer whose status has been revoked but who 
has remaining unsecured obligations pursuant to its previous status as a self-insured employer; or 
 
  2.3.e.  Has any other outstanding obligation, balance, debt or other liability 
pursuant to chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or rules promulgated thereunder. 
 
 2.4.  “Employee” has the meaning ascribed to that term by W. Va. Code §§23-2-1 and 
23-2-1a. 
 
 2.5.  “Employer” means either or both of the following: 
 
  2.5.a.  The term “employer” has the meaning ascribed to that term by W. Va. 
Code §23-2-1, which includes, but is not limited to, any individual, sole proprietor, firm, 
partnership, limited partnership, limited liability company, joint venture, association, 
corporation, company, organization, receiver, estate, trust, guardian, executor, administrator, 
government entity or any other entity regularly employing another person or persons for the 
purpose of carrying on any form of industry, service or business in this state, and as such is 
required to carry West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage. 
 
  2.5.b.  The term “employer” also means, for the purposes of this rule’s 
enforcement provisions at subsection 6.1. and sections 7., 8. and 10. any owners, officers, 
members, partners and directors of the employer. 
  
 2.6.  “Estimated monthly payroll” means: 
 
  2.6.a.  If available, the estimated annual payroll for the current policy year as 
provided by NCCI to the Commissioner, divided by twelve; 
 
  2.6.b.  If the amount described in subdivision a. of this subsection is not available, 
then the employer’s estimated monthly payroll based on other available information, including, 
but not limited to, information available on wages reported through West Virginia’s 
unemployment system. 
 



 

 

 2.7.  “Commissioner” means the Insurance Commissioner of West Virginia. 
 
 2.8.  “Payment” means any amount of money owed by an employer pursuant to chapter 
twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or any rules promulgated there under. 
 
 2.9.  “Old Fund” means the fund created pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-2(l). 
 
 2.10.  “Self-insured” or “Self-insured employer” means an employer which is eligible and 
has been granted self-insured status under the provisions of W. Va. Code §23-2-9. 
 
 2.11.  “Uninsured Employers’ Fund” means the fund created pursuant to W. Va. Code 
§§23-2C-2(o) and 23-2C-8. 
 
 2.12.  “West Virginia Code,” “W. Va. Code” and “Code” mean the West Virginia Code 
of 1931, as amended. 
 
 2.13.  “Workers’ Compensation Default List” or “Default List,” means a paper and/or 
electronic database maintained by the Commissioner which identifies employers who are in 
default.  This list may be made accessible in the form of either a computerized database or other 
databases. 
 
 2.14.  “West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage” means insurance coverage an 
employer is required to maintain under chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code. 
 

§85-11-3.  Default Employer not Permitted to Dissolve or Withdraw. 
 
 3.1.  The Commissioner shall not certify to the Secretary of State of West Virginia that all 
payments and interest due the Commissioner under chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia 
Code or the rules promulgated thereunder by an employer have been made until the employer 
cures any default or makes arrangements satisfactory to the Commissioner for that cure or until 
all payments due by the employer under chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or the 
rules promulgated thereunder have been made or arranged for by agreement with the 
Commissioner. 
 
 3.2.  Pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2-5a, the Secretary of State shall withhold the issuance 
of any certificate of dissolution or withdrawal in the case of any corporation organized under the 
laws of West Virginia or organized under the laws of any other state and admitted to do business 
in this state until the Secretary of State receives the subsection 3.1. certification. 
 

§85-11-4.  Notice to Employees of Default Employers. 
 
 4.1.  Upon discovery that an employer is not maintaining West Virginia workers’ 
compensation insurance, the Commissioner shall issue a written notice to the employees of that 
employer.  The notice shall be in the form prescribed by the Commissioner. 
 



 

 

 4.2.  Contents of notice.  --  The notice shall inform the employees of the default of their 
employer and the effective date thereof.  The notice shall also inform the employees of the legal 
consequences, as it affects the employees, of the default or termination of their employer.  The 
notice shall also contain the following statement which shall be printed in conspicuous type:   
“Any person who shall, prior to the reinstatement to good standing of the said employer, as 
hereinbefore provided for, or prior to sixty (60) days after the posting of this notice, whichever 
shall first occur, remove, deface, or render illegible this notice, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor, 
and, upon conviction thereof, shall be fined one thousand dollars ($1,000.00).” 
 
 4.3.  Posting the notice.  --  The Commissioner shall arrange for the posting of the notice 
as described in this section in a conspicuous place at the chief works of the employer, as the 
same appears in the records of the Commissioner, or such other location(s) as may be deemed to 
provide adequate notice to employees of the employer.  If the chief works of the employer 
cannot be found or identified, then the notice as described in this section shall be posted at the 
front door of the courthouse of the county in which the chief works are located, according to the 
Commissioner’s records.  A copy of the notice shall also be sent to the office of the secretary of 
state for publication in the State Register. 
 
 4.4.  The Commissioner may require any sheriff, deputy sheriff, or other official of the 
state of West Virginia, who may be authorized to serve civil process, to post the notice as 
described in this section and to make return thereof of the fact of such posting to the 
Commissioner, and any failure to post any notice within ten (10) days after he or she receives the 
same from the Commissioner, without just cause or excuse, shall constitute a willful failure or 
refusal to perform a duty required of him or her by law within the meaning of W. Va. Code §61-
5-28.   
 4.5.  Fee for posting.  --  Any official posting the notice as described in this section shall 
be entitled to the same fee as is now or may hereafter be provided for the service of process in 
suits instituted in courts of record in the state of West Virginia, which fee shall be paid by the 
Commissioner out of any funds at his or her disposal, but shall be charged by him or her against 
the account of the employer to whose default such notice relates. 
 

§85-11-5.  Audits of Employers. 
 
 5.1.  Pursuant to W. Va. Code §§ 23-1-1b(g)(20), 23-2-2 (a), and 33-2-22(a), the 
Commissioner has authority to perform audits of any employer in order to determine the amount 
of money owed to the Old Fund.  The audits shall be in a manner as prescribed by the 
Commissioner, and employers shall be required to comply with all requirements of such audits.  
Any employer refusing to comply with a Commissioner audit as described in this subsection 
shall be deemed in default based on the estimated liability to the Old Fund as calculated by the 
Commissioner based on available and credible information, and shall further be subject to all 
enforcement provisions as contained in chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code and the 
rules promulgated thereunder. 
 
 5.2.  Pursuant to W. Va. Code §§23-1-8, 23-2-2 and 33-2-22(a), the Commissioner is 
entitled to hold administrative hearings, conduct depositions, and issue subpoenas for production 



 

 

of persons for deposition or documents for inspection in order to obtain relevant information for 
determination of amount owed to the Old Fund.  All administrative hearings or depositions shall 
be convened and conducted in accordance with section 12. of this rule. 
 

§85-11-6.  Methods of Collection of Payments and Enforcement. 
 
 6.1.  Following the default of an employer, in addition to the remedies described in 
previous sections of this rule, the Commissioner shall have available to him or her the following 
remedies which shall each be described more fully below: 
 
  6.1.a.  Initiation of a civil action against the employer. 
 
  6.1.b.  Filing of a lien or liens enforceable against all the property of the 
employer. 
 
  6.1.c.  Initiation of an action in the Circuit Court of Kanawha County to enjoin the 
employer from continuing to carry on the business in which its liability was incurred or, in the 
alternative, to accept a bond from the employer. 
 
  6.1.d.  Filing a claim in any bankruptcy proceeding or in a receivership or 
insolvency proceeding which involves the employer. 
 
  6.1.e.  Informing the Secretary of environmental protection when an employer is 
in default prior to the director’s issuance of a coal mining permit so that the permit may not be 
issued until the applicant is in compliance with chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code 
or the Rules promulgated thereunder, as provided in W. Va. Code §22-3-8. 
 
  6.1.f.  Pursuant to W. Va. Code §§23-1-1b(g)(16), 23-2C-15(d), and 23-2C-19(e) 
and W. Va. Code of St. R. §85-32-1 et seq., informing the director, commissioner or head of any 
state agency when an employer is in default, so that the director may take appropriate remedial 
action against the employer in regard to a contract, license, permit, certificate or other authority 
to conduct a trade, profession or business.   
 
  6.1.g.  Requesting a criminal prosecution of any person, firm, corporation or other 
employer whose non-compliance with chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or the 
rules promulgated thereunder is believed to be in violation of W. Va. Code §61-3-24e and 
section 15. of this rule. 
 
 6.2.  In addition to the other remedies set forth herein, the Commissioner may, consistent 
with applicable West Virginia statutory and case law, also initiate a proceeding or proceedings in 
the name of the state to distrain upon any personal property, including intangible property, of any 
default employer.   
 
 6.3.  In every case noted in this section where a monetary sum is to be collected, the 
Commissioner shall include a demand for interest as specified in section 13. of this rule. 



 

 

 
 6.4.  The remedies set forth in subsection 6.1. of this section are described in greater 
detail in later sections of this rule. 
 

§85-11-7.  Statutory Lien. 
 
 7.1.   Pursuant to W. Va. Code §§23-2-5a(b) and 23-2C-19(f), any payment and interest 
thereon due and unpaid under chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code and the rules 
promulgated thereunder, including, but not limited to, money owed to the Old Fund, money 
owed to the Uninsured Employers’ Fund and money owed pursuant to liabilities accrued by the 
employer while the employer was self-insured constitutes a lien enforceable against all of the 
property of the owing employer.  The property subject to the lien includes all of the employer’s 
real estate, personal property of all types, money and combinations thereof. 
 
 7.2.  In accordance with W. Va. Code §§23-2-5a and 38-10C-2, the Commissioner shall 
file a written notice of the lien as described in this section in the office of the clerk of the county 
commission of the county in which the property of the employer or lienee against whom such 
lien is claimed, is situate, or if the employer’s or lienee’s property is situated in more than one 
county, then in each such clerk’s office in each such county.  The notice shall certify the amount 
of money that is owed by the employer.  
 
 7.3.  Pursuant to W. Va. Code §38-10C-2, the clerk or clerks of the county commission or 
commissions shall, upon the filing of the notice, index the notice in the judgment or tax lien 
docket of his or her office against the employer or lienee in favor of the state of West Virginia 
and the Commissioner.  Upon the satisfaction of such lien, a properly acknowledged release 
thereof for recordation shall be delivered or mailed to the employer or lienee by the 
Commissioner or shall be delivered or mailed to the clerk of the county commission in the 
county in which the lien was filed.  Such notice or notices of the lien shall be supplemented by 
additional notices from time to time whenever any additional liability is incurred by the 
employer or is determined by audit or other proceeding. 
 
 7.4.  Until the lien is docketed as provided for in subsection 7.3. of this section, the lien is 
unenforceable against purchasers (including a lien creditor) of real estate or personal property for 
a valuable consideration except for such purchasers with actual notice of the Commissioner’s 
lien.  However, if a purchaser (including a lien creditor) of real estate or personal property for a 
valuable consideration has actual knowledge of the lien, then that lien shall be enforceable 
against such a purchaser even before the lien is docketed as provided for in subsection 7.3. of 
this section.  Following the docketing pursuant to subsection 7.3. of this section, the lien is 
enforceable against any purchaser (including a lien creditor) with or without actual notice of the 
lien. 
 
 7.5.  Once all amounts due from the employer are collected by the Commissioner, the 
Commissioner shall release the lien or liens as provided by law. 
 

§85-11-8.  Civil Actions. 



 

 

 
 8.1.  The Commissioner in the name of the State may commence a civil action against a 
default employer to recover any payment and interest thereon due and unpaid under chapter 
twenty-three of the West Virginia Code and the rules promulgated thereunder, including, but not 
limited to, money owed to the Old Fund, money owed to the Uninsured Employers’ Fund and 
money owed pursuant to liabilities accrued by the employer while the employer was self-insured. 
 
 8.2.  Pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2-5a, if the judgment entered in a civil action as 
described in this section is against the defendant employer, the defendant shall pay the costs of 
the action.  In addition, a civil action as described in this section shall be given preference on the 
calendar of the court over all other civil actions. 
 
 8.3.   Consistent with the provisions of W. Va. Code §33-2-22 (e), the Commissioner may 
compromise and settle amounts due to the Old Fund or Uninsured Employer Fund if it is found 
to be in the best interests of the State.  Any such compromise or settlement is public information. 
 

§85-11-9.  Injunctions From Carrying On Business. 
 
 9.1.  Pursuant to the provisions of W. Va. Code §33-2-22(b), the Commissioner may 
bring an action against a default employer in the Circuit Court of Kanawha County to enjoin 
such default employer from continuing to carry on business. 
 
 9.2.  Pursuant to the provisions of W. Va. Code §33-2-22(c), the Circuit Court of 
Kanawha County shall issue an injunction prohibiting the default employer from operating its 
business if the Commissioner proves by a preponderance of the evidence that the employer is in 
default status. 
 
 9.3.  The Commissioner may, in the Commissioner’s sole discretion, as an alternative to 
pursuing such an injunction as described in this section, require a default employer to file a bond 
in the form prescribed by the Commissioner with satisfactory surety in an amount not less than 
fifty percent more than the payments and interest due.  The bond must be issued by a corporate 
surety satisfactory to the Commissioner. 

 

§85-11-10.  Receivership and Insolvency Proceedings; Bankruptcy. 
 
 10.1.  In the event that a default employer owing payment and interest due thereon under 
chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or the rules promulgated thereunder, including, 
but not limited to, money owed to the Old Fund, money owed to the Uninsured Employers’ Fund 
and money owed pursuant to liabilities accrued by the employer while the employer was self-
insured, shall be operated in connection with a receivership or insolvency proceeding in any state 
court in this state, the court under whose direction such business is operated shall, by the entry of 
a proper order or decree in the cause, make provisions, so far as the assets in administration will 
permit, for the regular payment of such payments as the same become due. 
 



 

 

 10.2.  In any such case as is described in subsection 10.1. of this section, the 
Commissioner may file such pleadings, motions, and other documents and take any other legal 
action necessary to protect the interests of West Virginia’s workers’ compensation market during 
the pendency and resolution of such case. 
 
 10.3.  In the event that a default employer owing payment and interest under the 
provisions of chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code and the rules promulgated 
thereunder, including, but not limited to, money owed to the Old Fund, money owed to the 
Uninsured Employers’ Fund and money owed pursuant to liabilities accrued by the employer 
while the employer was self-insured, files for or is placed in a bankruptcy proceeding under the 
laws of the United States, the Commissioner may become a party to such proceedings and take 
any and all actions needed to protect the interests of West Virginia’s workers’ compensation 
market during the pendency and resolution of the proceeding.  The Commissioner may institute 
an involuntary proceeding against an employer in a bankruptcy court of the United States in any 
proper instance.  All former premium tax assessments owed to the Old Fund and all surcharges 
and assessments owed by employers pursuant to chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia Code 
or the rules promulgated thereunder, including, but not limited to, the regulatory and Debt 
Reduction Fund surcharges and assessments pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-3(f), assessments 
and liabilities owed to the Uninsured Employers’ Fund pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-8 and 
assessments for the Self-Insured Guaranty and Security Risk Pools as established in W. Va. Code 
§23-2C-1, et seq. and W. Va. Code St. R. §85-19-1, et seq., are special revenue taxes under and 
according to the provisions of state workers’ compensation laws and are deemed to be tax 
claims, as priority claims or administrative expense claims according to those provisions of law 
provided in the United States bankruptcy code. 

 

§85-11-11.  Payment Agreements. 
 
 11.1.  Any default employer may, at the discretion of the Commissioner, make 
application, on a form provided by the Commissioner, to enter into a payment agreement with 
the Commissioner which provides for payment of the debt owed to the Commissioner in 
installments. 
 
 11.2.  As a prerequisite to entering into a payment agreement, a default employer as 
described in subsection 11.1. of this section may be required to make a good faith payment of ten 
percent (10%) of the total current outstanding liability owed or in such other amount as the 
Commissioner determines will ensure that the employer maintains West Virginia workers’ 
compensation coverage and pay off its outstanding debt under the agreement.   
 
 11.3.  A default employer as described in subsection 11.1. of this section who enters into 
a payment agreement and also provides the Commissioner with a current certificate of workers’ 
compensation insurance shall be removed from the Default List. 
 
 11.4. The Commissioner may then delay or continue further pursuit of that remedial 
action if, in the Commissioner’s sole discretion, delaying or continuing such action will lead to 



 

 

the employer maintaining West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage and paying off its debt 
owed under the agreement.   
 
 11.5.  Permitting an employer to enter into a payment agreement is discretionary with the 
Commissioner.  Such discretion shall be exercised with regard to the best interests of the Old 
Fund, Uninsured Employers’ Fund and/or the self-insured community, as applicable.   
 
 11.6.  The Commissioner may permit the payment of all amounts due to the Old Fund, 
Uninsured Employers’ Fund, or owed pursuant to liabilities accrued by the employer while the 
employer was self-insured, or any combination thereof, upon the terms stated in a payment 
agreement.  The Commissioner shall additionally have sole discretion in prescribing the terms 
and length of an agreement under this section, taking into consideration the best interests of the 
Old Fund, Uninsured Employers’ Fund and/or the self-insured community, as applicable. 
 
 11.7.  Pursuant to W. Va. Code §33-2-22(e), the Commissioner shall have authority  to 
waive or reduce any amount owed to the Old Fund and/or Uninsured Employers’ Fund.  In all 
cases when the Commissioner agrees to waive or reduce amounts owed to the Old Fund and/or 
Uninsured Employers’ Fund as described in this subsection, such decision shall be made 
consistent with the best interests of the Old Fund and/or Uninsured Employers’ Fund, as 
applicable.  Any amount waived or reduced under this section shall be noted in any payment 
agreement entered into pursuant to this section. 
 
 11.8.  Any employer that misses a payment will be provided notice by the Commissioner 
of a right to cure the missed payment within twenty (20) days of the employer’s receipt of such 
notice.  If after the expiration of the right to cure period no payment is received, the payment 
agreement becomes null and void and the employer shall be placed on the Default List and be 
deemed to owe the original amount, minus any credits for amounts actually paid under the 
agreement prior to default on the agreement.  If it is found to be consistent with the best interests 
of the Old Fund, Uninsured Employers’ Fund and/or the self-insured community, as applicable, 
the Commissioner may, within his or her sole discretion, provide the employer more than twenty 
(20) days to cure the missed payment.  Such additional notice may be provided either in the 
original notice of a right to cure or by way of an informal verbal agreement, to permit the 
employer some additional time to cure the missed payment. 
 
 11.9.  The interest rate agreed to in a payment agreement shall not change over the term 
of the agreement. 
 
 11.10.  Except as expressly provided in this section, nothing in this section shall limit the 
Commissioner from pursuing any other type of collection or enforcement method under chapter 
twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or the rules promulgated thereunder. 
 

§85-11-12.  Administrative Hearings. 
 



 

 

 All administrative hearings conducted pursuant to this rule will be held in accordance 
with the provisions of W. Va. Code §29A-5-1, et seq., and with the provisions of Sections 4. 
through 10. of 85 C.S.R. 7, “Rules for Selected Hearings.” 
 

§85-11-13.  Interest. 
 
 13.1.  Pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2-13, all payments unpaid on the date on which due 
and payable, as prescribed by the Commissioner, shall immediately begin bearing interest.  
Interest shall be compounded quarterly until payment plus accrued interest is received by the 
Commissioner; except that future interest for payment agreements shall be calculated and 
provided at a simple rate of interest.   Interest collected pursuant to this subsection shall be paid 
into the Old Fund, Uninsured Employers’ Fund or Self-Insured Guaranty Risk Pool or Security 
Risk Pool (as established in W. Va. Code St. R. §85-19-1, et seq.), whichever is applicable. 
 
 13.2.  Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection 13.1. of this section, in no event shall 
the rate of interest charged a political subdivision of the State or a volunteer fire department 
exceed ten percent per annum. 
 

§85-11-14.  Reserved. 
 

§85-11-15.  Criminal Penalties. 
 
 In addition to all other remedies available to the Commissioner, in accordance with W. 
Va. Code §61-3-24e, the Commissioner may elect to request prosecution of any person, firm, 
partnership, association, corporation or other entity who violates certain provisions of chapter 
twenty-three of the West Virginia Code or the rules promulgated thereunder.   
 

§85-11-16.  Freedom of Information Act. 
 
 Pursuant to the Freedom of Information Act, W. Va. Code §29B-1-1, et seq. and W. Va. 
Code §23-1-4(b), all of the evidence and records submitted during a hearing or proceeding under 
this rule, or as part of a stipulation, except insofar as those records contain confidential medical 
information or other information confidential to a workers’ compensation claimant, employer, or 
other person or entity, shall be subject to public inspection and copying;  except that, if under the 
rules of evidence certain testimony or documentary evidence may be deemed privileged or 
confidential and placed under seal, then upon such a ruling by the hearing officer, such testimony 
or documentary evidence shall not be disclosed.  If the privileged or confidential information 
cannot be excised from a record, then the record as a whole will be deemed confidential and 
sealed; however, the Commissioner shall release in its place a statement explaining in detail the 
basis for the withholding of the record. 
 

§85-11-17.  Placement on Workers’ Compensation Default List; Due Process and Hearing. 

 
 17.1.  When the Commissioner is made aware that an employer is in default, the 
Commissioner shall send the alleged default employer a notice informing the employer of the 



 

 

circumstances causing the employer to be in default and that the employer will be placed on the 
Default List within fifteen (15) days of the date on the letter.  The notice shall also inform the 
employer that the employer may request an expedited administrative hearing before the 
Commissioner if the employer believes that the impending action by the Commissioner is 
factually or legally erroneous. 
 
 17.2.  A request for an expedited administrative hearing, as described in subsection 17.1. 
of this section, shall clearly identify why the employer believes the Commissioner’s impending 
action of placing it on the Default List is legally or factually erroneous.  Upon receiving the 
request, the Commissioner shall, within ten (10) business days, hold a hearing which shall be 
conducted in accordance with the provisions of article five [§29A-5-1, et seq.], chapter twenty-
nine-a of this code and W. Va. Code St. R. §85-7-4 through 10.  A continuance shall only be 
granted upon the showing of good cause.  An appeal from a final decision of the Commissioner 
shall be taken in accordance with the provisions of articles five and six [§29A-6-1, et seq.] of 
said chapter:  Provided, That all appeals shall be taken to the Circuit Court of Kanawha County. 
 
 17.3.  If an employer files a request for an expedited hearing pursuant to subsections 
17.1. and 17.2. of this section, the fifteen (15) day time frame for placing the employer on the 
Default List shall be stayed until the Commissioner’s final order upon the expedited hearing is 
issued, the request is withdrawn or the matter is otherwise resolved.   
 
 17.4.  If the final decision of the Commissioner following the hearing upholds the 
original decision to place the employer on the Default List, the employer shall immediately be 
placed on the Default List. 
 
 17.5.  The administrative appeal process described in this section does not interfere with 
or toll a workers’ compensation carrier’s right to terminate the employer’s West Virginia 
workers’ compensation coverage.  The workers’ compensation carrier’s right to terminate an 
employer’s West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage is based upon the provisions of the 
insurance policy and the applicable law in chapters twenty-three and thirty-three of the West 
Virginia Code and the rules promulgated thereunder. 
 

§85-11-18.  Removal From the Default List. 

  
 18.1.  The Commissioner shall remove the employer from the Default List if an employer 
has met all of its legal, fiscal or other obligations pursuant to chapter twenty-three of the West 
Virginia Code and the rules promulgated thereunder, including, but not limited to, providing 
proof of current West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage and paying all amounts owed 
under chapter twenty-three of the West Virginia code. 
 
 18.2.  An employer on the Default List shall be permitted at any time to make a written 
request to the Commissioner for removal from the Default List: Provided, That such request is 
accompanied by evidence not previously submitted to the Commissioner which indicates that the 
employer making the request has met its obligations described in subsection 18.1. of this section 
and therefore is entitled to be removed from the Default List.   



 

 

 18.3.  Employers may file a petition with the Commissioner requesting an administrative 
hearing before the Commissioner if they believe they should be removed from the Default List: 
Provided, That the Commissioner reserves the right to summarily deny an employer’s petition 
for a hearing if the Commissioner determines that the employer presented no new evidence to the 
Commissioner in support of its written request for removal, is presenting evidence of no 
probative value or is otherwise making a frivolous request. 
 

§85-11-19.  Uninsured Fines. 

 

 19.1.  Any employer that fails to maintain West Virginia workers’ compensation 
coverage for any period, regardless of whether the employer has such coverage at the time the 
uninsured period is discovered, shall, subject to the limitations of subsection 19.2. of this section, 
be fined by the Commissioner an amount equal to twice the amount of monthly base premium as 
calculated at the beginning of the uninsured period for each month, or portion of each month, the 
employer is or was without West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage.   
 
 19.2.  Pursuant to W. Va. Code §23-2C-8(d)(3), no fine imposed in this section for a 
single continuous period of failing to maintain West Virginia workers’ compensation coverage 
shall exceed ten thousand dollars ($10,000).  However, if an employer procures West Virginia 
workers’ compensation coverage following a period of failing to maintain such coverage and 
then thereafter again fails to maintain such coverage, they will again be subject to a fine pursuant 
to subsection 19.1. of this section of up to ten thousand dollars ($10,000). 
 

§85-11-20.  Employer Violator System. 

 

 20.1.  Every employer subject to placement on the Default List shall also be placed in the 
Employer Violator System {W. Va. Code §23-1-1b(g)(25)}, and shall remain in the Employer 
Violator System until such time as the employer is removed from the Default List. 
 
 20.2.  All individuals who own, are officers, members or partners of, control, have a 10%  
ownership interest in, or are otherwise deemed to have a substantive or active ownership interest  
in an employer company which is on the Default List shall be placed in the Employer Violator  
System, and shall remain in the Employer Violator System until such time as the employer is 
removed from the Default List. 


