
INFORMATIONAL LETTER NO. 81 

MAY 1992 

TO: All Resident Agents, Solicitors, and Insurance Companies 

 Licensed in West Virginia and Other Interested Parties 

Re: CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS 

The 1990 regular session of the West Virginia Legislature enacted House Bill 4130 

which mandates a program of continuing education be required of certain licensees 

beginning July 1, 1992. 

The Insurance Commissioners six-member Board of Insurance Agent Education 

(hereafter referred to as "the Board"), which oversees the agents pre-licensing program, 

was charged with developing and implementing the continuing education program. 

Continuing Education compliance will be required of all West Virginia residents holding 

active or inactive (no active company appointments) agents licenses or active Solicitors 

licenses. Compliance with continuing education will not be required of: 1. Non-resident 

licensees; 2. Residents holding only credit life/credit accident & sickness (Powers 15) 

licenses; and 3. Adjusters. 

The program requires agents and solicitors to accumulate twenty-four (24) hours of 

continuing education from approved providers every two years beginning July 1, 1992. 

Applications for course providers and courses must be submitted to the Board forty-five 

(45) days in advance and approved by the Board prior to courses being offered or 

advertised. No course may be repeated by an agent or solicitor within the same 2-year 

period. No credit will be given to licensees for courses that have not been approved in 

advance by the Board. Only those courses taken during a biennium (2-year reporting 

period) can be credited to that biennium. Credit hours in excess of the required 24 hours 

will not be carried over into the next biennium. 

Any individual newly licensed during the second year of a biennium shall have the 

remainder of the biennium in which such agent is initially licensed plus the next 

biennium to comply with continuing education requirements. (Example: Biennium runs 

7-1-92 thru 6-30-94. Any individual newly licensed after July 1, 1993 will have until the 

biennium ending 6-30-96 to complete 24 hours of continuing education credits). 
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Approved providers of continuing education courses will be responsible for submitting 

proof of course completion to the Insurance Commissioner to be recorded on agents 

records. Agents and insurance companies will not be required to submit proof of course 

completion to this office. However, agents are required to maintain certificates of course 

completion for three years in the event an audit of courses is necessary. Three to six 

months prior to the end of a biennium, the Insurance Department will notify licensees, at 

their residence mailing address, advising the status of their continuing education credits. 

Agents are reminded that West Virginia Insurance Law (33-12-29) mandates that 

residence mailing address changes be reported to Agents Licensing & Education within 

thirty (30) days of such change. 

In accordance with West Virginia Law, any person failing to meet the mandated 

continuing requirements may, after a hearing, be subjected to suspension of all licenses 

issued for any kind or kinds of insurance. 

Any licensee who does not anticipate pursuing the required continuing education credits 

may elect to cancel his/her license by submitting a written request to this office. Such 

request must include: 1. Name; 2. Address; 3. WV Agents License #; 4. Telephone 

Number; 5. Reason for Cancellation. Any insurance company(ies) the agent represents 

will be notified of the cancellation. Cancellation of a license prohibits an individual from 

further transacting insurance business in West Virginia. 

Neither cancellation of license nor any disciplinary action levied as a result of non-

compliance with continuing education shall prohibit an individual from receiving 

commissions which have been vested and earned while that individual maintained an 

approved insurance agents license. 

The following may be obtained by sending a written request to West Virginia Insurance 

Commissioner, Agents Licensing & Education, P.O. Box 50541, Charleston, WV 25305-

0541:

  Provider and Course Application Packets  

  Lists of Approved Providers (available after July 1st) 

All requests must include a large, self-addressed return envelope. Requests received 

without a return envelope will not be processed. 

          HANLEY C. CLARK 

        Insurance Commissioner 


