
WEST VIRGINIA INFORMATIONAL LETTER 

NO. 46 

December 1987 

TO:  ALL EXCESS LINES BROKERS 

RE:  ANNUAL AND QUARTERLY PREMIUM TAX RETURN FILING 
  REQUIREMENTS 

 All licensed excess lines brokers must submit quarterly and annual premium tax 
returns with the appropriate remittance as outlined in § 33-l2-l6a of the West Virginia 
Code. The quarterly returns must be submitted on or before the twenty-fifth day of the 
month succeeding the close of the quarter. This corresponds to quarterly due dates of 
April 25th, July 25th and October 25th. The annual return which reconciles the first three 
quarterly payments to the total tax liability is due on or before March 1 for the preceding 
calendar year. The annual and quarterly returns must be submitted even if you have no 
tax liability. These returns and taxes must be postmarked by the appropriate due dates or 
you will subject yourself to the penalties allowed by the West Virginia Code. 

 Effective with the issuance of this Informational Letter, brokers will be fined fifty 
dollars ($50) for each day of delinquency. This penalty will be applied to late filers of tax 
returns and tax payments. The maximum fine could be one hundred dollars ($100) for 
each day of delinquency if there is a dual violation. 

        Fred B. Wright 
       Insurance Commissioner of 

     the State of West Virginia 


