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WHO MUST COMPLY WITH CE REQUIREMENTS 
 

1. Who is required to meet the continuing education requirements? 

All licensed resident producers (agents) in West Virginia who do not qualify for an 
exemption must meet the requirement. 

2. Who is exempt from meeting the CE requirements? 

The following are exempt: Non-resident producers, adjusters, and producers holding 
limited lines credit insurance licenses or any line where a licensing examination is not 
required. 

 
 
 



CREDIT REQUIREMENTS, COMPLIANCE DEADLINE, CARRYOVER  
CREDITS AND APPROVED COURSE INFORMATION 
 

3. How many credit hours must I earn to meet the requirements? 

24 credit hours every 2 years (a biennium) are required. The current compliance period 
(biennium) began July 1, 2010 and ends June 30, 2012. Of those credits, at least 3 must 
be from courses categorized as Ethics. Producers who sell only pre-need funeral 
insurance or only through a telemarketing firm may submit an affidavit and have their 
requirement reduced to 6 hours. Of those credits, at least 3 must be from courses 
categorized as Ethics. Prometric will notify telemarketers and funeral homes in early 
2012 of the procedures for filing the affidavit. 

4.   What are the new Long-Term CE requirements? 

All (resident and nonresident) producers newly licensed must complete a one-time 
training immediately, prior to selling any Long-Term Care products. The Act requires 
that all Long-Term Care producers continue to receive ongoing training of no less than 
four hours in each mandatory continuing education biennium subsequent to the biennium 
in which the one-time training was completed 
 
Resident producers can have their Long-Term Care training course hours count towards 
their 24 hour CE requirement by selecting courses that are APPROVED and 
CATEGORIZED for Long-Term Care credit by West Virginia’s CE plan administrator, 
Prometric. A listing of approved Long-Term Care courses can be found at 
www.sircon.com, by selecting Lookup Education Courses/Credits under Quickstart. 

 

5. What are the new Annuity requirements? 

All (resident and nonresident) newly licensed producers must complete a one-time 
training immediately, prior to selling annuity products.   
  
Resident producers can have their Annuity training course hours count towards their 24 
hour CE requirement by selecting courses that are APPROVED and CATEGORIZED for 
Annuity credit by West Virginia’s CE plan administrator, Prometric. A listing of 
approved Annuity courses can be found at www.sircon.com, by selecting Lookup 
Education Courses/Credits under Quickstart. 
 

6. What is the date by which I must complete 24 hours of West Virginia CE 
credits? 

The CE compliance deadline is June 30, 2012. 

 

7. Can I repeat a CE course within the compliance period? 

If you successfully complete an approved course, you may not repeat the course and 
receive certification during the same compliance period. 



8. Can I receive partial credit for a course? 

Credit for completing only a portion of a course cannot be granted. 

 

9. Can I receive credit for teaching a CE course? 

Instructors may be added to rosters in order to receive credit but only once for any single 
course during a biennium. 

 

10. Can I carry over credits to the next biennium? 

After the courses are all applied, any excess up to 6 credit hours, will carry forward to the 
next biennium.  West Virginia does not allow for the carry-over of Ethics or Long-Term 
Care credits.  These credits will be carried over as general credits. 

 

11. How will I know which courses will qualify for continuing education credit 
hours? 

You can get a list of approved courses at www.sircon.com, by selecting Lookup 
Education Courses/Credits under Quickstart. If you have any doubt, call Prometric at 
800.805.9127.  
 
 
WARNING NOTICE 
 
12. Will I get a notice about my unfulfilled CE requirement? 
 
Around April 1, 2012 Prometric will mail a notice to all producers subject to a CE 
requirement. The notice will indicate the number of credits completed and your 
compliance status. 
 
NONRESIDENT REQUIREMENTS 
 

13. How do nonresident licensed producers comply with CE requirements? 

West Virginia does not require any submission or fee from nonresident producers.  

 
 
EXEMPTIONS, EXTENSIONS AND HARDSHIP EXTENSIONS 
 

14. Can I receive an extension beyond the June 30, 2012 deadline? 

Producers may request an extension of up to 90 days for good cause as determined by the 
Commissioner. Examples of good cause are disabling accident, illness or call to military 



duty. Requests for extensions must be in writing to the Commissioner and postmarked on 
or before May 31, 2012. 

 

REPORTING CREDIT HOURS AND COMPLIANCE  
 

15. How will credit hours be counted and reported? 

The course provider must report your course completion on a roster to Sircon no more 
than 30 days after the course completion date. The provider must also give you a 
certificate of course completion for your records. 

 
16. How will I demonstrate that I have completed the CE requirements to the 

CE Administrator? 

When producers have met their CE credit requirement, Prometric will mail a 
confirmation of compliance to the producer. Producers can verify their credits and 
compliance status at Sircon’s web site: www.prometric.com or by calling Prometric at 
800.805.9127. 

 
REQUIREMENTS FOR NEWLY LICENSED PRODUCERS 
 
17. What are the requirements for a newly licensed producer? 

Individuals newly licensed on or after July 1, 2011 (start of the second year of the 
biennium) are exempt for that compliance period. 

 
CONSEQUENCES OF FAILURE TO COMPLY 
 

18. What happens if I do not earn the necessary CE credit hours by the end of 
the compliance period? 

Your license will be suspended around mid-August 2012. If you earn the necessary 
credits for compliance before the end of the next compliance period, the suspension will 
be lifted upon submission of the C. E. Reinstatement form and fees. If you fail to earn the 
proper credits by that time, your license will be terminated. 

 
 
HOW TO CONTACT PROMETRIC AND THE COMMISSIONER 
 
19. How can I contact Prometric? 
 
Prometric can be reached by email at Pro.ce-services@prometric.com, by phone at 
800.805.9127 or by fax at 800.735.7977. Program information and additional services are 
available at the Web site: www.prometric.com. The mailing address is: 
 
 



Prometric 
ATTN: West Virginia CE 
1260 Energy Lane 
St. Paul, MN 55108 
 
 
20. How can I contact the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner? 
 
The mailing address is: 
 
West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner 
Agent Licensing and Education 
PO Box 50541 
Charleston, WV 25305-0541 
 
Website:  www.wvinsurance.gov 
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