
West Virginia Continuing Education 
FAQs 

1. Who is required to meet the continuing education requirements? 

All licensed resident producers (agents) in West Virginia who do not qualify for an exemption 

must meet the requirement. 

2. Who is exempt from meeting the CE requirements? 

The following are exempt: Non-resident producers, adjusters, and producers holding Limited 

Lines Credit Insurance Licenses or any line where a licensing examination is not required. 

3. How many credit hours must I earn to meet the requirements? 

24 credit hours every 2 years (a biennium) are required.  

4.        What is my compliance period? 

If you were licensed before 6/30/2011 and were required to be in compliance by the June 30, 

2012 CE compliance date, you will not be required to be in compliance by the expiration date 

currently on your license.  Your compliance end date will be at your second renewal after the end 

of the June 30, 2012 biennium. 

If you were licensed on or after 7/1/2011 you are required to be in compliance with CE by the 

expiration date on your current license. 

5.  What is the CE requirement? 

There is a 24 hour CE requirement and of those credits, at least 3 must be from courses 

categorized as Ethics.  

6.  What types of affidavits are accepted? 

Producers who sell only pre-need funeral insurance or are employed only through a 

telemarketing firm may submit an affidavit and have their requirement reduced to 6 hours.  

7.   What are the new Long-Term CE requirements? 

Effective July 1, 2009, WV Code 33-12-8a, “Producer Training for Long-Term Care Products”, 

requires all active (resident and nonresident), veteran producers that sell, solicit or negotiate 

Long-Term Care insurance complete a one-time Long-Term Care training course of no less than 

eight hours prior to July 1, 2010. In addition, if a producer is newly licensed (after July 1, 2009) 

they must complete the one-time training immediately, prior to selling any Long-Term Care 

products. The new Act requires that all Long-Term Care producers continue to receive ongoing 

training of no less than four hours in each mandatory continuing education biennium subsequent 

to the biennium in which the one-time training was completed 



 

Resident producers can have their Long-Term Care training course hours count towards their 24 

hour CE requirement by selecting courses that are APPROVED and CATEGORIZED for Long-

Term Care credit by West Virginia’s CE plan administrator, 

Prometric. A listing of approved Long-Term Care courses can be found on Prometric’s 

website at http://www.prometric.com/CE/wvceprod.htm. 

8. Can I repeat a CE course within the compliance period? 

If you successfully complete an approved course, you may not repeat the course and receive 

certification during the same compliance period. 

9. Can I receive partial credit for a course? 

Credit for completing only a portion of a course cannot be granted. 

10. Can I receive credit for teaching a CE course? 

Instructors may be added to rosters in order to receive credit but only once for any single course 

during a biennium. 

11. Can I carry over credits to the next biennium? 

After the courses are all applied, any excess up to 6 credit hours, will carry forward to the next 

biennium.  West Virginia does not allow for the carry-over of Ethics or Long-Term Care credits.  

These credits will be carried over as general credits. 

12. How will I know which courses will qualify for continuing education credit hours? 

You can view a list of approved courses on Sircon’s Web site: www.sircon.com by selecting 

Look up Education courses and selecting Approved Courses Inquiry. 

 

13. Will I get a notice about my unfulfilled CE requirement? 

 

Prometric will mail a notice to all producers before your CE compliance end date. The notice 

will indicate the number of credits completed and your compliance status. 

 

14. How do nonresident licensed producers comply with CE requirements? 

West Virginia does not require any submission or fee from nonresident producers.  

15. Can I receive an extension beyond my continuing education deadline? 

Producers may request an extension of up to 90 days for good cause as determined by the 

Commissioner. Examples of good cause are disabling accident, illness or call to military duty. 

http://www.sircon.com/


Requests for extensions must be in writing to the Commissioner and postmarked 60 days prior to 

a producers compliance end date. 

 

16. How will I demonstrate that I have completed the CE requirements to the CE 

Administrator? 

When producers have met their CE credit requirement, Prometric will mail a confirmation of 

compliance to the producer. Producers can verify their credits and compliance status at 

Prometric’s web site: www.sircon.com or by calling Prometric at 800.805.9127. 

17. What happens if I do not earn the necessary CE credit hours by the end of the 

compliance period? 

Your license will be suspended. If you earn the necessary credits for compliance before the end 

of your next renewal, the suspension will be lifted upon submission of the C. E. Reinstatement 

form and fees and renewal of the license. If you fail to earn the proper credits by that time, your 

license will be terminated. 

 

18. How can I contact Prometric? 

 

Prometric can be reached by email at Pro.ce-services@prometric.com, by phone at 

800.805.9127 or by fax at 800.735.7977. Program information and additional services are 

available at the Web site: www.prometric.com. The mailing address is: 

 

Prometric 

ATTN: West Virginia CE 

1260 Energy Lane 

St. Paul, MN 55108 

 

 

19. How can I contact the West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner? 

 

The mailing address is: 

West Virginia Offices of the Insurance Commissioner 

Agent Licensing and Education 

PO Box 50541 

Charleston, WV 25305-0541 

 

Website:  www.wvinsurance.gov 


